NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Govt releases 800-page Telangana report

Govt releases 800-page Telangana report

Last updated on: January 06, 2011 11:42 IST

A meeting of political parties from Andhra Pradesh with Home Minister P Chidambaram on the Telangana issue was held in New Delhi on Thursday.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy, Congress leader Uttam Kumar Reddy, CPI-M state secretary B Raghavalu, PRP leader C Ramachandraiah were among those who are attending the meeting during which Chidambaram handed over the Justice B N Srikrishna Committee report on the Telangana statehood demand.

The Telangana Rashtra Samiti, Telugu Desam Party and the Bharatiya Janata Party kept away from the meeting.

Chidambaram discussed the contents of the voluminous report, which runs into almost 800 pages.

Chidambaram had earlier said that the central government will hold discussions with all political parties before taking 'appropriate' decision on the issue of a separate Telangana state.

"The government would consider the report carefully and begin the process of consultations with all political parties before taking appropriate decisions on the report."

Chidambaram further said all political parties and groups have given an assurance that they will maintain peace, harmony and law and order.

The seven-point terms of reference announced by the Union Government on February 12 has mandated the Justice Srikrishna Committee to 'examine the situation in Andhra Pradesh with reference to the demand for a separate state of Telangana as well as the demand for maintaining the present status of united Andhra'. 

The government constituted the committee on February 3, nearly two months after it had announced that steps have been initiated for the formation of a separate state of Telangana.

The Telangana region consists 10 northern districts of Andhra Pradesh, including Warangal, Adilabad, Khammam, Mahabubnagar, Nalgonda, Rangareddy, Karimnagar, Nizamabad, Medak and Hyderabad.