NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Sonia drafts 2 general secretaries, Rahul still out

Sonia drafts 2 general secretaries, Rahul still out

January 06, 2006 18:49 IST

Ahmed Patel continues to be the political secretary to Congress president Sonia Gandhi while B K Hariprasad and V Narayanswamy were inducted as general secretaries, as Sonia reconstituted the Congress Working Committee and the All India Congress Committee secretariat.

Sonia retained Ambika Soni, Ashok Gehlot, Digvijay Singh, Janardhan Dwivedi, Margaret Alva and Mukul Wasnik as general secretaries. Satyavrat Chaturvedi has been dropped but made a permanent invitee to CWC, AICC general secretary Janardhan Dwivedi announced on Friday.

While Rahul Gandhi's name does not figure for any organisational post, party circles expect he could be given a responsibility in the government.

Besides Sonia and Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, other members of CWC include Arjun Singh, A K Antony, Mohsina Kidwai, Pranab Mukherjee, Saif-ud-din Soz, Shivraj Patil and Urmila Singh. Moti Lal Vohra continues to be the tresurer.

Soz was brought into CWC for the first time and represents Jammu and Kashmir after senior Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad took over the reins of chief ministership of the state.

Rajya Sabha MP Karan Singh was appointed chairman of the party's foreign affairs department, a post earlier held by former external affairs minister K Natwar Singh, who had been dropped from CWC following the Volcker report, which named him as a beneficiary of the oil-for-food scam during Saddam Hussein's regime in Iraq in 2001.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.