Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

Campaigning for Goa polls ends

May 31, 2007 23:11 IST

The campaigning for the Goa Assembly polls came to an end on Thursday.

There are 202 candidates in the fray, including Chief Minister Pratapsingh Rane for the 40-member House, which will go to polls on June 2.

Others in the fray include Leader of Opposition Manohar Parrikar, Deputy Chief Minister Wilfred D'Souza and Speaker Fransisco Sardinha.

The Congress-NCP combine is contesting 38 seats, BJP 33, Maharashtra Gomantak Party (MGP) 21, Janata Dal (S) 12 and United Goans Democratic Party six.

Former Congress MP Churchill Alemao-led Save Goa Front is contesting 19 seats.

Except two, all the sitting MLAs, including three who were disqualified by Speaker during the last tenure, are in the fray.

An estimated 9.9 lakh voters are eligible to exercise their franchise.

The straight fight is in three constituencies including Panaji constituency where leader of opposition Manohar Parrikar, BJP's chief ministerial candidate, is crossing swords with Congress' Dinar Tarcar.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.