The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

Don't go beyond PoK: CM to Hurriyat

May 27, 2005 18:07 IST
Last Updated: May 27, 2005 18:13 IST

Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed on Friday advised Hurriyat Conference leaders not to travel beyond Pakistan-occupied Kashmir when they undertake a journey by Srinagar-Muzaffarabad bus across the Line of Control.

"Travel by Hurriyat leaders beyond PoK on permit would be discriminatory and not be in the spirit of the Indo-Pak agreement under which the bus service was launched," Sayeed said.

"Under the permit system, ordinary residents of Jammu and Kashmir can travel only to PoK. How can they be allowed to go beyond? This will be discrimination between ordinary people and them," he said.

Noting that the separatist leaders' travel outside PoK without passport and visa would create a precedent, he asked them to stick to the conditions under which the bus service was launched.

Under the Indo-Pak agreement for the launch of bus service, any permanent resident of Jammu and Kashmir can travel only between two parts of undivided state on a permit.

Travel beyond PoK would be on the basis of passport and visa.

The chief minister, however, hoped this would not be an impediment in the travel plans of the Hurriyat and the matter would be resolved amicably.

He said the Hurriyat faction led by Mirwaiz Umar Farooq has been saying that they wanted to go across the LoC to hold talks with militant leaders and try for a ceasefire.

"I hope they succeed in their attempt," he said, adding it would be in the benefit of the state.

Earlier stories:

Geelani put under house arrest

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.