Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > PTI

Pokhran nuclear tests anniversary:
PM honours 23 defence scientists

May 11, 2003 18:10 IST

Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayeehonoured someof the country's top defence scientists, including P Venugopalan, leading designer of the propulsion systems for Prithvi, Agni and BrahMos missiles, on the occasion of the fifth anniversary of thePokhran nuclear tests.

May 11 is observed as National Technology Day to mark the nuclear tests.

The prime ministerpresented the annual Defence Research and Development OrganisationAwards at a ceremony in Delhi on Sunday.

Also on the honours list were Y P Pathak, the scientist who has developed Sarvarta, the Indian army's multi-hop, multi-span bridging system, which after being inducted into the armed forces is on the verge of winning export orders.

Pathak along with Venugopalan were among 10 academicians awarded the prestigious Scientist of the Year Award.

Dr G M Cleetus and his team were decorated with the Agni Award for Excellence in Self-reliance for developing a world-class mobile surveillance system, which won a contract from the Indian army in the face of stiff international competition.

After evaluation trials, the army ordered 1,171 of these radars, to be used in Jammu and Kashmir.

Veteran defence scientist and the country's leading expert on tanks M Natarajan was honoured with the Technology Leadership Award. He is considered the father of India's main battle tank Arjun.

Natarajan has followed its success by designing a self-propelled 52-calibre 155mm gun system for the Arjun.

Electronics and Radar Development Establishment, Bangalore, which did pioneering work on developing the Indra and Rajendrabattlefield surveillance system radars, was declared the best DRDO laboratory bagging the prestigious Silicon Trophy.

The Chandigarh-based Snow and Avalanche Study School won the Titanium Trophy.

© Copyright 2006 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 1

Sub: Details please

Rediff, It would have been great, if u would have given the details and the areas they have worked on and for what acheivement they ...

Posted by Ramesh



Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.