NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Tamil Nadu on course to secure full points

Tamil Nadu on course to secure full points

November 25, 2007 19:26 IST

Former champions Tamil Nadu are on course to garner full points against Karnataka after taking a vital 200 run first innings lead (TN were 185 for six at close) on the penultimate day of the four-day Elite-A Ranji Trophy match in Chennai on Sunday.

The highlight of the day's play was a superb bowling performance by Tamil Nadu fast bowler Amarnath (5/74) and spinner Ramkumar (4/65). Resuming at their overnight score of 144 for 6, Karnataka were dimissed for 221 in 71.2 overs and only Akhil (33) and Sunil Joshi (33) managed to make significant contributions on Sunday. Tamil Nadu had made 421 in their first innings.

In their second knock, the hosts lost wickets in pursuit of quick runs. Tamil Nadu's first innings hero, Abhinav Mukund fell without opening his account being caught by wicket keeper Tilak Naidu off Aiyappa. And when Anirudha Srikanth (11) made his exit in the fourth over, Tamil Nadu were 17 for 2.

Opener M Vijay and captain Badrinath attacked the bowlers and they added 76 runs for the third wicket before the latter was caught by Sunil Joshi at deep square leg off Vinay Kumar for 46 (5 fours and a six). Vijay (47, with three fours and two sixes) and Srivasudeva Das (23) put on 35 runs. Both fell to catches in the slips by Akhil and leg-spinner Appanna and Aiyappa were the bowlers.

R Srinivasan, a dependable batsman, who made his debut for the state this season and R Ram Kumar (20) were at the crease at draw of stumps. For Karnataka, Aiyappa claimed 3 for 30 and Vinay Kumar, Sunil Joshi and Appanna took a wicket each.


Tamil Nadu (1st Innings): 421
     Karnataka (1st Innings):
     R Uthappa c Gopinath b Yeo Mahesh             15
     KB Pavan   b  P.Amarnath                          3
     S Shinde    b  Ramkumar                   45
     C Raghu  lbw  Ramkumar                             6
     Y Goud c Gopinath b P.Amarnath                 34
     T Naidu c Anirudha b Ramkumar                 36
     B Akhil lbw P.Amarnath                            33
     S Joshi lbw P.Amarnath                        33
     RVinay Kumar c Suresh b P.Amarnath                5
     NC Aiyappa lbw Ramkumar                           5
     K Appanna not out                                  2
     Extras: (Nb-3, W-1)                                    4
     Total: (all out in 71.2 overs)                    221

Fall of wickets: 1-8, 2-30, 3-58, 4-78, 5-140, 6-144, 7-202, 8-213, 9-214

Bowling: Yeo Mahesh 16.3-3-56-1, P Amarnath 21.3-8-74-5, A Mukund 1-0-6-0, Ramkumar 27.2-8-65-4, C Suresh 5-1-20-0.

Tamil Nadu (2nd Innings):
     S Anirudha  c Robin Uthappa b Aiyappa             11
     M Vijay c Akhil b Appanna                         47
     A Mukund c Tilak Naidu b Aiyappa             0
     S Badrinath c Sunil Joshi b Vinaykumar            46
     KSrivasudeva Das c Akhil b Aiyappa               23
     R Srinivasan batting                              17
     K H.Gopinath c Robin Uthappa b Sunil Joshi         9
     R Ramkumar batting                                20
     Extras: B-5, Lb-4, W-3                                12
     Total: (for 6 wkts in 61 overs)                   185    

Fall of wickets: 1/17, 2/17, 3/93, 4/128, 5/139, 6/155    

Bowling: R Vinaykumar 14-2-40-1, NC Aiyappa 13-4-30-3, S Sunil Joshi 11-3-33-1, B Akhil 7-1-19-0, KP Appanna 16-1-54-1.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.