NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Sri Lanka beat Bangladesh by seven wickets to win series

Sri Lanka beat Bangladesh by seven wickets to win series

Last updated on: March 19, 2013 17:30 IST

Tillakaratne Dilshan and Kumar Sangakkara struck half centuries as Sri Lanka coasted to a seven-wicket series-clinching victory over Bangladesh on the fourth day of the second and final Test on Tuesday.

The win had been set up by left-arm spinner Rangana Herath, who celebrated his 35th birthday with career-best figures of seven for 89 and his 200th Test wicket as Bangladesh were earlier bowled out for 265 in their second innings.

Dilshan hit a brisk 57 off 73 balls that included six fours and Sangakkara continued his amazing form in the series to score 55 from 85 balls with eight fours.

Kumar SangakkaraIt was the first time in four innings that Sangakkara had been dismissed below 100. He was named man of the series with a total aggregate of 441 runs.

The pair added 94 for the second wicket and after they were dismissed, Lahiru Thirimanne and Angelo Mathews with 13 apiece carried Sri Lanka to their victory target of 160 for the loss of three wickets.

Dilshan was bowled by Robiul Islam playing an ambitious drive and Sangakkara was also bowled when he tried to sweep Sohag Gazi and the ball trickled onto his stumps.

Opener Dimuth Karunaratne's early wicket for 16 offered only scant hope to Bangladesh, who recorded their first ever draw against Sri Lanka in the Galle Test last week.

Left-handed Karunaratne was adjudged lbw after he did not offer any shot to a Islam delivery.

Earlier, Herath claimed a match haul of 12 for 157 and joined the 200 Test wicket club as Bangladesh folded before lunch.

Bangladesh, having resumed at 158 for four, lost their ninth wicket two minutes before the scheduled lunch break which was delayed by 15 minutes for an extended morning session.

Herath struck immediately in the first over of the day, dismissing overnight batsman Mominul Haque (37) when short-leg fielder Dimuth Karunaratne took a bat-pad catch.

Nasir Hossain left without troubling the scorers, yorked by Herath after going for an ambitious drive.

Those two quick wickets pushed Bangladesh onto the back foot but skipper Mushfiqur Rahim (40) refused to give up. He got some support from Gazi (26) and Abul Hasan (25 not out) down the order before Herath struck again.

After removing Gazi, Herath had the Bangladesh captain caught at slip for his 200th Test wicket that effectively broke the back of the Bangladesh resistance.

Among the Sri Lankans, only Muttiah Muralitharan (795) and Chaminda Vaas (355) have taken more Test wickets.

Hasan hit two sixes and a four but Rubel Hossain was bowled by Dilshan for seven and Shaminda Eranga ended the visitors' innings by removing Islam's stumps (10).


Bangladesh (1st innings): 240

Sri Lanka (1st innings): 346

Bangladesh (2nd innings): (158-4 overnight)

Tamim Iqbal b Eranga 59

Jahurul Islam st Chandimal b Herath 48

Mohammad Ashraful b Herath 4

Mominul Haque c Karunaratne b Herath 37

Mahmudullah b Herath 0

Mushfiqur Rahim c Mathews b Herath 40

Nasir Hossain b Herath 0

Sohag Gazi c Lakmal b Herath 26

Abul Hasan not out 25

Rubel Hossain b Dilshan 7

Robiul Islam b Eranga 10

Extras: (b-1, lb-4, nb-4) 9

Total: (all out; 100.4 overs) 265

Fall of wickets: 1-91, 2-96, 3-143, 4-143, 5-160, 6-171, 7-202, 8-228, 9-239.

Bowling: Kulasekara 12-0-36-0(nb-1), Lakmal 9-1-26-0, Herath 36-9-89-7, Dilshan 25-4-62-1, Eranga 15.4-3-39-2 (nb-3), Mathews 3-2-8-0.

Sri Lanka (2nd innings):

D. Karunaratne lbw b Robiul 16

T. Dilshan b Robiul 57

K. Sangakkara b Gazi 55

L. Thirimanne not out 13

A. Mathews not out 13

Extras: (b-2, lb-1, nb-3) 6

Total: (three wickets, 41.4 overs) 160

Fall of wickets: 1-31, 2-125, 3-135.

Did not bat: D. Chandimal, K. Vithanage, N. Kulasekara, S. Eranga, R. Herath, S. Lakmal.

Bowling: Robiul Islam 11-0-42-2(nb-3), Abul Hasan 4-0-21-0, Sohag Gazi 13-1-47-1, Rubel Hossain 3-0-16-0, Nasir Hossain 4-0-11-0, Mahmudullah 3-0-12-0, Mohammad Ashraful 3.4-0-8-0.

Result: Sri Lanka won by seven wickets.

Series: Sri Lanka won 1-0.

© Copyright 2018 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.