NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Pacers lead UP fightback

Pacers lead UP fightback

December 11, 2006 21:20 IST

Medium pacer Shalabh Srivastava and Praveen Kumar brought back holders Uttar Pradesh in the match when they sent back top five Karnataka batsmen for 54 runs in the second innings on the third day of the Ranji Trophy match in Kanpur on Monday.

Karnataka, chasing a target of 122 runs to win the match, need 68 runs with 5 wickets in hand on the final day.

Earlier, the visitors earned a valuable lead of 73 runs against the defending champions in first innings by wrapping UP's second innings on 194.

Karnataka's hopes for a win now pin on veteran Ch Raghu and Sunil Joshi who had scored runs in first innings.      For UP, Salabh and Praveen picked two wickets each, while R P Singh took one.

Earlier, Karnataka, who resumed their innings at the overnight score of 296 for 7, were bowled out for 337. Overnight not out batsman Sunil Joshi failed to add any run to his 38. However, S Binny scored 31 runs.

For UP, Praveen Kumar picked 4 wickets while Mohd. Kaif bagged two wickets each.

UP, trailing by 73 runs, started their second innings once again on a disastrous note before being skittled out for 194 at the stroke of tea to set the visitors a target of 122.

Shivakant Shukla topscored with 47. Former Test spinner Sunil Joshi took 3 for 41 while Vinay Kumar, K P Apanna and Raghu bagged 2 wickets each.


Haryana (Ist innings) 287

Tamil Nadu (1st innings)
M.Vijay C Deepak Joon b Amit Mishra 34
S.Anirudha c Mahesh Rawat b Joginder Sharma 23
R.Prasanna b Joginder Sharma 0
S.Badrinath B Joginder Sharma 15
C.Suresh LBW B Gaurav Vaishisht 0
R.Satish C Sachin Rana B Gaurav Vaishisht 18
S.Sharath B Gaurav Vaishisht 34
K.Varun Kumar B Gaurav Vaishisht 0
R.Aswin B Gaurav Vaishisht 0
V.Yo Mahesh not out 20
R.Jesuraj C Ankit Rawat B Gaurav Vaishisht 5
Extras: (Lb-1, Nb-18, W-1) 20

Total (All Out in 77 overs) 169

Fall of wkt: 1/60, 2/62, 3/72, 4/84, 5/96, 6/113, 7/117, 8/117, 9/163

Bowling: Joginder Sharma 24-5-65-3, Sachin Rana 4-2-13-0, Amit Mishra 16-5-40-1, Sanjay Budhwar 4-0-17-0, Gaurav Vaishisht 25-15-24-6 Sumit Sharma 2-0-3-0, Ankit Rawat 2-0-6-0.

Haryana (2nd Innings):
Sumit Sharma batting 15
Ankit Rawat Batting 12
Extras: (LB-1, NB-3): 4
Total (without loss in 9 overs) 31

Bowling: V.Yo Mahesh 3-0-10-0, R.Jesuraj 4-1-12-0, R.Aswin 2-0-8-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.