NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Maharashtra beat Rajasthan by eight wickets

Maharashtra beat Rajasthan by eight wickets

November 17, 2007 21:14 IST

Sairaj Bahutule (4 for 96) and Wahid Sayyed (3) were the wreckers-in-chief as Maharashtra crushed Rajasthan by eight wickets on the third day of the Ranji Trophy Super league match to open their account with five points.

Rajasthan, trailing by 182 runs in first innings, resumed their second second essay at 160 for 3 and despite a valiant innings of 99 by Vineet Saxena and Gagan Khoda (60) they could manage only 303.

For Maharashtra Munaf Patel took 2 for 76 but Sairaj Bahutule (4 for 96) and Wahid Sayyed (3 for 68) stole the show as the visitors chased a victory target of 121.

Maharastra knocked off the required runs in 27 overs losing two wickets.

They lost Nishant More (12) and Harshad Khadiwale (19) but Kedar Jhadav (37) and Venugopal Rao (45) propelled their team to an eight-wicket victory and earn five points while Rajasthan went empty handed in their second match too.


Rajasthan (1st innings): 105

Maharashtra (1st innings): 287

Rajasthan (2nd innings) (overnight 160 for 3 )

Rajasthan (2nd innings) (overnight 160 for 3 )
Rohit Sharma b Waheed 6
Gagan Khoda c More  b Waheed 60
Rahul Kanwat lbw b Bahutule 16
Vinit Saxena lbw b Bahutule 99
Robin Bisht c kedar b Bahutule 0
Rajesh Bishnoi lbw b Waheed 42
Rohit Jhalani c Vishal b Bahutule 15
Afroj Khan c Yogesh b Munaf 20
Pankaj Singh c Bahutule b Munaf 4
Md Aslam run out 0
Sumit Mathur not out 3
Extras (b-12,lb-13,nb-6,wd-6) 37
Total (96.2 overs, all out) 303

Fall of wickets: 1-23, 2-78, 3-78, 4-163, 5-203, 6-253, 7-286, 8-294, 9-295, 10-303

Bowling: Munaf Patel 26-6-76-2, Waheed Sayyed 20-2-68-3, Sairaj Bahutule 30.2-4-96-4, Harshad Khadiwale  5-2-6-0, Salil Agarkar 15-2-32-0

Maharashtra (2nd innings):
Nishant More  c Rajesh b Pankaj 12
Harshad Khadiwale c Jhalani b Pankaj 19
Kedar Jhadav not out 37
Venugoapl Rao not out 45
Extras (b-6, nb-2, wd-2) 10
Total (27 overs, two wkts) 123

Fall of wickets: 1-14, 2-48

Bowling: Pankaj Singh 13-2-42-2, Sumit Mathur 6-2-21-0, Md Aslam 5-0-35-0, Afroj Khan 3-0-19-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.