NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Team India departs in quest for Champions Trophy

Team India departs in quest for Champions Trophy

May 29, 2013 12:03 IST

The 15-member Indian squad for the ICC Champions Trophy commencing on June 6 left for London via Dubai on Wednesday.

MS DhoniThe team, led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, is scheduled to reach England later on Wednesday.

Dhoni, who was gagged by the Cricket Board (BCCI) from answering any questions about the spot-fixing and betting scandal at the pre-departure news conference on Tuesday, is due to address the world media on Thursday.

India is scheduled to play two warm-up games on June 1 and June 4 ahead of the campaign opener against South Africa on June 6 at Cardiff, Wales.

The squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Irfan Pathan, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Amit Mishra and R Vinay Kumar.

Coach: Duncan Fletcher

Manager: Ranjib Biswal.

Photograph: Getty Images 

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.