NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Lankan eves in Asia Cup final

Lankan eves in Asia Cup final

December 17, 2006 19:04 IST

A half-century by D D Silva and an all-round performance by E Loksurya helped Sri Lanka crush Pakistan by five wickets and storm into the final of the third women's Asia Cup cricket tournament in Jaipur on Sunday.

The Lankan eves, who had beaten Pakistan in a first round league match too, dominated again, restricting their rivals to a modest 166 for seven and then chased down the target with more than 10 overs to spare.

Electing to bat, Pakistan lost two early wickets, those of Taskeen Qaseer (22) and Sajda Shah (1), but Bismah Maroof (22), Sana Mir (35) and Sana Jawahid (31) helped them recover and post a respectable total.

Loksurya was most successful bowler for Sri Lanka, claiming 3-40, while C Polgampala took 2-33.

In reply, Sri Lanka made a solid start with D D Silva (50) and Polgampala (26) adding 90 runs for the opening wicket.

They were rattled a bit when they lost three quick wickets but Loksurya (36 no) stemmed the rot and steered her team to victory.

Sajda Shah claimed 2 for 46 for Pakistan.

Having beaten Pakistan in the first round league match, the victory ensured Sri Lanka a place in the final against India.

Hosts India take on Sri Lanka in their second league match tomorrow.


Taskeen Qadeer lbw Weerakoody 6
Bisman Maroof st b Polgampala 22
Sajda Shah lbw b Polgampala 1
Sana Mir b loksuriya 35
Sana Javed lbw b Loksuriya 31
Urooj Mumtaj c Dolawattee b Alwis 5
Batool Fatima b Loksuriya 22
Maryam Butt not out 19
Qanita Jalil not out 1
Extras: (lb-9, wd-15) 24
Total: (for 7 wkts, in 50 overs) 166

Fall of wickets: 1-8, 2-35, 3-48, 4-107, 5-108, 6-121, 7-161.

Bowling: E Loksuriya 10-2-40-3, S Weerakoody 10-2-23-1, C Polgampala 9-1-33-2, S Sriwardane 8-0-27-0, S D Alwis 10-1-26-1, S Dolawattee 3-0-8-0.

Sri Lanka
D D'Silva c Sana b Sajda 50
C Polgampala c Batool b Maryam 26
S D Alwis b Rasheed 1
S Sriwardane c Bisma b Sajda 7
Dilani Manodara lbw b Sana 3
E Loksuriya not out 36
S Dolwatte not out 7
Extras: (b-5, lb-4, wd-28) 37
Total: (for 5 wkts, 39.4 overs) 167

Fall of wickets: 1-90, 2-94, 3-112, 4-113, 5-142.

Bowling: Asmavia Iqbal 3-1-16-0, Qanita Jalil 4-0-20-0, Sajda Shah 10-0-46-2, Sana Mir 6.4-0-26-1, Sabahat Rasheed 10-3-23-1, Maryam Butt 5-1-21-1, Urooj Mumtaz 10-0-6-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.