NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Cricket Buzz: Jones replaces Rajput as Afghanistan head coach

Cricket Buzz: Jones replaces Rajput as Afghanistan head coach

October 10, 2017 15:27 IST

Former Australia batsman Dean Jones

IMAGE: Former Australia batsman Dean Jones. Photograph: Mark Tantrum/Getty Images

Former Australia batsman Dean Jones is to take over the role of Afghanistan's head coach on an interim basis and lead the team in their Intercontinental Cup fixture in Hong Kong later this month, the country's cricket board has announced.

Afghanistan were granted Test status in June by the International Cricket Council, putting them in an elite group of 12 sides permitted to compete in the longest form of the game.

Afghanistan did not renew their contract with former India cricketer Lalchand Rajput and have been without a head coach since August.


"I am pleased to announce that I will be Afghanistan interim head coach for their tour to Hong Kong," the 56-year-old Jones said on his Twitter site.

The side will play against Hong Kong from October 20 in the ICC Intercontinental Cup, which is a first-class tournament played between the Associate members.

The Afghanistan Cricket Board said the arrangement with Jones could be extended.

"Both sides will consider a long-term coaching agreement after the tour of Hong Kong," the board said in a statement.

Windies-Lanka series kicks-off ICC Women's Championship

The second edition of the ICC Women's Championship will get underway with the series between the West Indies and Sri Lanka from October 11 to October 15 in Trinidad.

With players, administrators and officials all giving credit for a rise in standard of women's cricket to this eight-team tournament which ensures series against each of the other sides, the championship is likely to come more into focus in this cycle that will culminate in 2020.

The tournament will be played on the same format as the inaugural edition which was held from 2014-16, with all eight sides -- Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the Windies -- taking on each other in series of three ODIs on a home or away basis.

2021 World Cup hosts New Zealand and the three other top teams from this championship will gain direct qualification for women's pinnacle event while the remaining sides will get a second chance through the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifier 2021.

Member boards will be encouraged to play T20Is during tours but no other ODIs can be scheduled along with Women's Championship series. Teams will get two points for each win, one point for a tie or no-result and no points for a loss.