NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » New BCCI HQ inaugurated

New BCCI HQ inaugurated

November 04, 2006 21:21 IST

Board of Control for Cricket in India president Sharad Pawar on Saturday inaugurated the new BCCI headquarters at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Pawar also conferred the C K Nayudu award, carrying a trophy and cash award of Rs 5 lakh, to former Indian captains M A K Pataudi, Chandu Borde, Bhausaheb Nimbalkar, record holder of highest first class individual score, and famous spin quartet of Bishan Singh Bedi, Erapalli Prasanna, B S Chandrasekhar and S Venkatraghavan.

The BCCI president also felicitated eight former presidents of the Board and 16 former Indian captains, including Mohammed Azharuddin.

From the present Indian team, captain Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag were there.

Notable absentees at the function were Kapil Dev, who is travelling abroad, D K Gaikwad and an unwell Polly Umrigar.

Top officials of the International Cricket Council, including President Percy Sonn and Chief Executive Officer Malcolm Speed, BCCI and Mumbai Cricket Association were present on the occasion.

BCCI sources said though invites were sent to former Board presidents Jagmohan Dalmiya and A C Mutiah, both of them did not turn up on the occasion.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.