NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Bangladesh square series

Bangladesh square series

January 30, 2005 16:23 IST

Mohammad Rafique and Manjural Islam Rana grabbed four wickets each to bowl Bangladesh to a 58-run victory in the fourth one-day international against Zimbabwe on Saturday.

Nafis Iqbal (56) and Khaled Mashud (51) made half-centuries to lead Bangladesh to 247 for nine in their 50 overs before Zimbabwe were bowled out for 189 in 47.2 overs. The victory tied the five-match series at 2-2.

Rana finished with four for 36 off 10 overs and was named man of the match. Rafique finished with four for 33 off 10 overs.

Zimbabwe opener Stuart Matsikenyeri top scored for the visitors with 50, his second one-day international half century, in a 102 first wicket partnership with Barney Rogers, who was trapped lbw by Rafique for 49.

Rana swept through the middle order, having Dion Ebrahim caught by Khaled Mahmud for a duck, before he caught and bowled Brendan Taylor for one and trapped captain Tatenda Taibu in front for nought.

Rafique then cleaned up the tail, when he bowled Elton Chigumbura for seven, had Tinashe Panyangara leg before on five then caught and bowled Prosper Utseya for six.

Top-order batsman Hamilton Maskadza, who watched as several partners fell at the other end, was the ninth wicket to fall when he was bowled by Mashrafe Mortaza for 33.

Douglas Hondo (17) added 20 runs for the final wicket with Christopher Mpofu (two not out) before he was run out.

Earlier Bangladesh skipper Habibul Bashar elected to bat but the hosts lost the early wicket of Rajin Saleh before Iqbal and Aftab Ahmed shared a second-wicket partnership of 71.

Ahmed made 44 before being run out and Mashud a solid 51. Brendan Taylor was Zimbabwe's most successful bowler with figures of three for 54.


Rajin Saleh c Hondo b Mpofu 2
Nafis Iqbal c Matsikenyeri b Utseya 56
Aftab Ahmed run out 44
Habibul Bashar st Taibu b Hondo 16
Mohammad Ashraful c Matsikenyeri b Mpofu 35
Khaled Mashud c Utseya b Taylor 51
Mashrafe Mortaza c Matsikenyeri b Panyangara 8
Mohammad Rafique lbw Taylor 1
Khaled Mahmud lbw b Taylor 0
Manjural Islam Rana not out 15
Nazmul Hossain not out 6

Extras (b-1 lb-1 w-9 nb-2) 13

Total (for nine wickets, 50 overs) 247

Fall of wickets: 1-14 2-85 3-123 4-132 5-196 6-217 7-226 8-226 9-227

Bowling: Panyangara 8-1-36-1 (nb-1), Mpofu 8-0-39-2 (w-1), Hondo 7-0-40-1 (w-8 nb-1), Rogers 10-0-40-0, Taylor 7-0-54-3, Utseya 10-0-36-1

S.Matsikenyeri b Manjural Islam Rana 50
B.Rogers lbw Mohammad Rafique 49
Dion Ebrahim c Khaled Mahmud b Manjural Islam Rana 0
H.Masakadza b Mashrafe Mortaza 33
B.Taylor c and b Manjural Islam Rana 1
T.Taibu lbw Manjural Islam Rana 0
E.Chigumbura b Mohammad Rafique 7
T.Panyangara lbw Mohammad Rafique 5
P.Utseya c and b Mohammad Rafique 6
D.Hondo run out 17
C.Mpofu not out 2

Extras (lb-9 w-5 nb-5) 19

Total (all out, 47.2 overs) 189

Fall of wickets: 1-103 2-104 3-115 4-118 5-118 6-133 7-146 8-158 9-169

Bowling: Mashrafe Mortaza 9-0-39-1, Nazmul Hossain 6-0-28-0 (w-1), Manjural Islam Rana 10-0-36-4 (w-1 nb-5), Khaled Mahmud 4-0-21-0 (w-1), Mohammad Rafique 10-0-33-4 (w-1), Rajin Saleh 8.2-1-23-0 (w-1)

Result: Bangladesh won by 58 runs to level the five-match series 2-2.

First match: Zimbabwe won by 22


Second match: Zimbabwe won by 31 runs.

Third match: Bangladesh won by 40 runs.

Fifth match: January 31, Dhaka.

© Copyright 2018 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.