NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Tendulkar, Dravid to receive BCCI awards

Tendulkar, Dravid to receive BCCI awards

December 15, 2007 20:19 IST

Champion batsmen Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid, ace leg-spinner Anil Kumble and former Test captain Nari Contractor will be felicitated in Mumbai on Sunday at the Board of Control for Cricket in India's annual awards function.

Contractor will receive the "Lifetime Achievement Award", carrying a cheque for Rs 15 lakh, the C K Nayudu Trophy and a citation, Tendulkar is to receive two awards while Dravid and Kumble one each, a BCCI release said on Saturday.

 Tendulkar will get the Polly Umrigar Award for outstanding performance in international matches in the 2006-07 season, carrying Rs five lakh prize and a trophy, as well as a special trophy for reaching personal milestones of 11,000 and 15,000 runs in Tests and ODIs.

Dravid will receive a special trophy for completing 10,000 runs in ODIs while Kumble will be felicitated and awarded a trophy for being appointed as the captain of the Indian Test team and for completing 550 wickets in Tests.

Young Karnataka batsman Robin Uthappa and lanky Bengal pacer Ranadeb Bose would each get Rs one lakh and the Madhavrao Scindia Award for scoring the highest number of runs and taking the highest number of wickets respectively in the 2006-07 domestic season.

Mumbai Cricket Association will receive a trophy for the overall best performance in the 2006-07 domestic season while woman cricketer Jhulan Goswami would receive a cheque for Rs one lakh and a trophy for becoming the ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year 2007.

The other award winners: 

Anju Jain and Anjum Chopra - Arjuna awardees in women's cricket for 2006 and 2007 respectively will get a trophy each.

Mandeep Singh (Punjab) - M A Chidambaram Trophy and Rs 50,000 as the best under-15 cricketer and Rs 50,000.

K Ajay Rana (Himachal Pradesh) - Chidambaram Trophy and Rs 50,000 as the best under-17 cricketer.

Ajinkya Rahane (Mumbai) - Chidambaram Trophy and Rs 50,000 as the best under-19 cricketer.

A S Bali (Delhi) - Chidambaram Trophy and Rs 50,000 as best under-22 cricketer.

Jaya Sharma - Chidambaram Trophy and Rs 50,000 as the best women's cricketer.

© Copyright 2017 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.