NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Australia recall Mitchell Marsh for Champions Trophy

Australia recall Mitchell Marsh for Champions Trophy

May 01, 2013 10:43 IST

Australia recalled all-rounder Mitchell Marsh to the squad for their Champions Trophy defence and named George Bailey as vice-captain on Wednesday.

The 21-year-old Marsh, who played his only one-day international in 2011 against South Africa, was rewarded with a place in the 15-member squad, which will be led by Michael Clarke, for his strong domestic limited over performance for Western Australia.

"Mitchell's domestic season was interrupted by (hamstring) injury but there's no doubt he has the potential to perform strongly at international level," national selector John Inverarity said.

Mitchell MarshFast bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile and his Western Australia team mate Adam Voges also made it to the squad, which will begin the Champions Trophy campaign against hosts England at Edgbaston on June 8.

Twenty20 captain Bailey was named vice-captain, stepping in after all-rounder Shane Watson stepped down from the post last month.

"The NSP (National Selection Panel) has been impressed with George's leadership when he stepped in to guide the ODI team in Michael's absence last summer and leadership of the T20 team over the past two seasons," Inverarity said.

"Given George's experience and credentials, he was viewed as the ideal person for the role."

Steve Smith, Aaron Finch and Moises Henriques were "close to selection", while paceman Ben Cutting was not considered because of injury concerns, Inverarity said.

Pacemen Mitchell Starc and Clint McKay were recovering well from injury and would join Mitchell Johnson to form the core of the limited-overs bowling group, he said.

"The ICC Champions Trophy is another important step in our aim to get back to the number one ranking," Inverarity said.

"As the two-time defending champion, the squad has been selected with the aim of winning the tournament ... while also keeping the 2015 ICC World Cup firmly in mind." 

The squad: Michael Clarke (captain), George Bailey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Phillip Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Clint McKay, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson.

© Copyright 2018 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.