Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333

Home > Cricket > India's tour of Sri Lanka > Report

   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

India win toss, bat in first ODI

August 18, 2008 10:19 IST

- Scorecard

Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni [Images] won the toss and choose to bat against Sri Lanka [Images] in the first one-day international on Monday.

India lost in-form opener Virender Sehwag [Images] due to an ankle injury and his place was taken by the uncapped Virat Kohli, who was the under-19 captain.

Sri Lanka named the same playing eleven that won the Asia Cup last month, playing six specialist batsmen and five bowlers.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene [Images] (captain), Sanath Jayasuriya [Images], Kumar Sangakkara (wicketkeeper), Chamara Kapugedera, Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan [Images], Chaminda Vaas [Images], Thilan Thushara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Muttiah Muralitharan [Images], Ajantha Mendis [Images]

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Gautam Gambhir [Images], Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh [Images], Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Irfan Pathan [Images], Harbhajan Singh [Images], Zaheer Khan [Images], Munaf Patel [Images], Pragyan Ojha

  • Complete coverage: India's tour of Sri Lanka

       Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

  • Advertisement