Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > India > Cricket > Indian Cricket League > Report

India XI book final berth in ICL 20s World Series

April 14, 2008 01:19 IST

India XI rode on a fine half century by Tejinder Pal Singh (52) and three-wicket haul by Ganapati Vignesh (3/22) to thrash Pakistan XI by 32 runs in their last league match and book a berth in the final of Indian Cricket League 20s World Series tournament in Hyderabad on Sunday night.

Put in to bat by Pakistan XI captain Inzamam-ul-Haq [Images], India XI scored 176 for six in their stipulated 20 overs with Tejinder top-scoring with a hurricane 32-ball 52 and his skipper Ibrahim Khaleel chipping in with a 30-ball 35.

For Pakistan XI, Arshad Khan was the most successful bowler taking two wickets for 29 runs while Riaz Afridi and Naved-ul-Hasan returning with figures of 1/16 and 1/37 respectively.

In reply, Pakistan XI began well scoring at a brisk pace and they were 40 for one in the third over but lost way later on.

Indian bowlers applied pressure in the middle overs and the required run rate for the Pakistan side kept on mounting before they virtually gave up chasing the target towards the end.

Vignesh returned figures of 3/22 from his four overs and Ghulam [Images] Murtaza supported him with 2 for 22.

With this win, India XI have collected six points from four matches in the two-leg league with three wins and one

Pakistan XI and World XI are on identical two points each from three matches and the winner between the two teams tomorrow will take on India XI in the final on April 15.

Brief Scores: India XI 176 for 6 in 20 overs (T P Singh 52, I Khaleel 35; Arshad Khan 2/29) beat Pak XI 144 for 6 in 20 overs (Hasan Raza 46, Abdul Razzaq [Images] 38, Imran Farhat [Images] 33; G Vignesh 3/22, A Murtaza 2/22).

  • Complete coverage: Indian Cricket League

  • Advertisement