Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > Cricket > Report

Kolkata Tigers beat Chandigarh Lions

December 02, 2007 22:49 IST

Chasing a modest target of 125, Chandigarh Lions surrendered meekly handing a 43-run win victory to Kolkata Tigers in the fifth match of the Indian Cricket League's Twenty20 tournament in Panchkula on Sunday night.

The Lions collapsed like a pack of cards and were bundled out for 81 in 17.3 overs.

They kept losing wickets at regular intervals, with their top order batsmen, including Hamish Marshall (7), Sarabjit Singh (8), Chetan Sharma (0) and skipper former New Zealand [Images] all-rounder Chris Cairns [Images] (7) failing to make an impact.

Englishman Darren Maddy wrecked the Lions' innings by claiming four scalps, including that of opener Imran Farhat [Images] (23) and was declared Man of the Match. The Tigers also showed some brilliance in the field effecting three run outs.

Electing to bat first, the Tigers were bowled out for 124 in 19.3 overs. Openers Maddy (19) and Lance Klusener (12) did not make much of an impact while Abhishek Jhunjhuwala (11) and SG Das (0) also did not have luck going their way.

Tigers' skipper Craig Mcmillan [Images] was looking in good form but was run out by some exceptional fielding by TP Singh. Rajesh Sharma took three wickets for the Lions while the team's Kiwi import Daryl Tuffey took two.

Both teams have two points each from the two matches they have played so far.

Score card:

Kolkata Tigers:
     D Maddy c Sodhi b Sharma           19
     L Klusener b Hall                  12
     A Jhunjhunwala b Tuffey            11
     S Das c Hall b Tuffey               0
     C McMillan run out (Singh)         20
     D Dasgupta c Sharma b Singh        11
     S Singh run out (Marshall)         10
     U Chandana c Singh b Sharma        12
     M Diwakar c Farhat b Sharma        10
     Eklak Ahmid run out (Cairns)        2
     M Hayward not out                   2
     Extras: (b-1, lb-12, w-2)           15
     Total: (all out in 19.3 overs)     124

Fall of wickets: 1-13, 2-42, 3-42, 4-50, 5-82, 6-83, 7-108, 8-110, 9-115, 10-124

Bowling:  A Hall 4-0-37-1, D Tuffey 4-1-8-2, A Uniyal 4-0-16-0, RS Sodhi 1-0-5-0, Rajesh Sharma 3.3-0-23-3, TP Singh 3-0-22-1

Chandigarh Lions:
     H Marshall lbw b Hayward              7
     Imran Farhat c Ahmid b Maddy         23
     Sarabjit Singh run out (Jhunjhunwala) 8
     Chetan Sharma run out (Jhunjhunwala)  0
     TP Singh st Dasgupta b Klusener     15
     C Cairns c McMillan b Maddy           7
     A Hall run out (Chandana)             1
     RS Sodhi not out                     5
     A Uniyal c Dasgupta b Ahmid           2
     D Tuffey st Dasgupta b Maddy          6
     Rajesh Sharma lbw b Maddy             0
     Extras: (lb-2, nb-5)                   7
    Total: (all out in 17.3 overs)         81

Fall of wickets: 1-14, 2-38, 3-39, 4-51, 5-63, 6-65,7-70, 8-73, 9-81, 10-81

Bowling: M Hayward 3-0-14-1, Eklak Ahmid 4-0-26-1, M Diwakar 2-0-7-0, L Klusener 4-0-18-1, D Maddy 2.3-0-6-4, U Chandana 2-0-8-0