Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > Cricket > PTI > Report

Aussie speedsters have India 'A' reeling

July 19, 2006 16:11 IST

India 'A' were looking down the barrel after a pathetic batting display left them tottering at 221 for 7 on the second day of a four-day match against Australia 'A' in the Top End cricket series at Cairns on Wednesday.

The Indians were still 140 runs behind in their first innings when play was called off early due to bad light.

Australia 'A', who declared their first innings at a huge 461 for 4 in the morning, ensured they did not lose their grip on the match by pulling the rug from under the feet of the Indian batsmen.

It was the speedsters who did the maximum damage, with Shane Watson picking 3 for 39, Mitchell Johnson 2-39 and Shaun Tait 2-43.

Robin Uthappa stood tall among the ruins, scoring a strokeful 50 in 57 balls, inclusive of four boundaries, before being caught and bowled by Watson.

His partners at the other end kept losing their wickets at regular intervals to leave India at a shaky 115 for 4. It was then left to S Badrinath (59) and Rohit Sharma (41) to steady the ship somewhat.

Rohit's 59-ball innings had six boundaries but both the batsmen failed to capitalise on their good work.

Earlier the hosts milked the Indian bowling, adding 100 runs to their overnight score of 361 for 2 in the 23 overs before declaring their innings.

Phil Jaques, on 199 overnight, went on to make 240 off 331 balls with 21 fours before being trapped leg before by Venugopala Rao. The other overnight batsman Travis Birt (130) also completed his century before being run out by a throw from R P Singh.

© Copyright 2006 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments


Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.