Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > Cricket > Reuters > Report

Jayasuriya blasts Sri Lanka to victory

December 28, 2006 11:42 IST

Sanath Jayasuriya blasted 111 off just 87 balls as Sri Lanka chased down a daunting target of 285 with ten overs to spare in the first one-day international against New Zealand at Napier on Thursday.

The hosts had looked well set after a fine century in only his third one-dayer from Ross Taylor helped New Zealand to 285 for eight from their fifty overs at McLean Park.

But a thrilling opening stand of 201 in just 24 overs between Jayasuriya and Upul Tharanga (68) set the Sri Lankans up for a 1-0 lead in the five-match series.

Taylor spanked an unbeaten 128 off 133 deliveries, featuring 12 boundaries and four massive sixes.

The 22-year-old's final six sailed out of the ground and into a neighbouring property, forcing the umpires to call for a new ball.

New Zealand opener Nathan Astle blazed a quick 83 off 87 deliveries as well as sharing in a record 151-run stand with Taylor for the second wicket before he was run out.

Chaminda Vaas was the pick of the Sri Lankan bowlers, taking 3-50 from 10 overs while off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan took 1-48.

But it was soon clear that the total was not too daunting for a rampant Jayasuriya.

The 37-year-old struck 12 fours and five sixes in his 23rd one-day hundred as he and Tharanga savaged the Kiwi attack.

The duo finally went in the space of two deliveries from James Franklin but run-a-ball efforts from skipper Mahela Jayawardene (34no) and Kumar Sangakkara (36) guided Sri Lanka home from the final ball of the 40th over.

The second match is at the Queenstown Events Centre on Sunday.


New Zealand:
B. McCullum lbw b Vaas 10
N. Astle run out 83
R. Taylor not out 128
P. Fulton c Sangakkara b Muralitharan 24
D. Vettori c M. Jayawardene b Vaas 5
J. Marshall lbw b Vaas 0
H. Marshall c Sangakkara b D. Fernando 17
J. Franklin b Malinga 2
A. Adams b Malinga 3
M. Gillespie not out 1
Extras: (lb-4 nb-4 w-4) 12
Total: (for 8 wickets, 50 overs) 285

Fall of wickets: 1-18, 2-169, 3-222, 4-229, 5-229, 6-257, 7-262, 8-280

Did not bat: M. Mason

Bowling: C. Vaas 10 - 0 - 50 - 3 (nb-3 w-1), L. Malinga 10 - 0 - 66 - 2 (nb-1), D. Fernando 5 - 0 - 43 - 1 (w-1), M. Muralitharan 10 - 0 - 48 - 1 (w-2), S. Jayasuriya 10 - 0 - 42 � 0, T. Dilshan 5 - 0 - 32 � 0.

Sri Lanka:
U. Tharanga c McCullum b Franklin 68
S. Jayasuriya c Mason b Franklin 111
M. Jayawardene not out 34 K. Sangakkara c&b Vettori 36
M. Atapattu not out 10
Extras: (b-3 lb-3 nb-12 w-12) 30
Total: (for 3 wickets, 40 overs) 289

Fall of wickets: 1-201, 2-201, 3-271

Did not bat: C. Silva, T. Dilshan, C. Vaas, D. Fernando, L. Malinga, M. Muralitharan

Bowling: J. Franklin 10 - 0 - 69 - 2 (nb-4), M. Mason 6 - 0 - 60 - 0 (w-1), M. Gillespie 9 - 0 - 64 - 0 (nb-7 w-3), A. Adams 7 - 0 - 54 - 0 (w-1), D. Vettori 8 - 0 - 36 - 1 (w-1) .

Result: Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets

© Copyright 2006 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 3

Sub: Stephen Flemming

The primary reason for NewZealLand losimg the match is abscence of their captain (Stephen Flemming).

Posted by Pramod Swaraj

Sub: srilanka team

jaysuriya is a best player of the world.

Posted by sunny

Sub: Jayasuriya

Congratulations to him for equalling Shahid Afridi's 6's in ODI's (219). If SriLanka can bat like this in the World Cup they will definitely reach ...

Posted by Umesh Srinivasan



Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.