You are here: Rediff Home » India » Cricket » The Cup » Statistics
Search: The Web
  Discuss this Article   |      Email this Article   |      Print this Article

MVP Day 14: Sanath Jayasuriya
Srinivas Bhogle
March 27, 2007 17:59 IST

This is a surprise! How did Jayasuriya suddenly become No. 1?

The answer is simple. As the Super Eight gets under way, all the players who have gone home are also out of the MVP list.

This new list features only players of the teams that made it to the Super Eight, and the statistics are drawn only from league matches featuring Super Eight teams; e.g. Australia vs South Africa or Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh (recall that Jayasuriya scored 109 in 87 balls against Bangladesh).

RANKCountryPlayerRunsBallsCtRcBbWR/Out ptsMTotalAVG
1SLSanath Jayasuriya109871211001160.2160.2
2AusMatthew Hayden 10168101152.6152.6
3NZScott Styris8711312542201145.2145.2
4SAAB De Villiers9270101133133
5AusMichael Clarke 9275101129129
6WIShivnarine Chanderpaul102113001113.6113.6
7AusRicky Ponting9191001109.2109.2
8WIChris Gayle181412360201102.8102.8
9SAGraeme Smith74690141200188.488.4
10NZJacob Oram63830253610187.487.4
11SLKumar Sangakkara (wk)56552| 0017878
12NZShane Bond00019602017777
13SLLasith Malinga000273630173.873.8
14WIDaren Powell000245420167.267.2
15SLChamara Silva524800165.665.6
16AusAdam Gilchrist (wk) 42421| 00165.465.4
17AusShane Watson 1490464811161.261.2
18SLMahela Jayawardene46700116060
19AusBrad Hogg 00061603015959
20IreKyle McCallan20240356010157.857.8
21EngPaul Nixon (wk)42411| 00156.256.2
22SLTillakaratne Dilshan001121811155.455.4
23NZJames Franklin001435420153.253.2
24SLMuttiah Muralitharan000155410152.252.2
25SAJacques Kallis48631665410151.851.8
26AusNathan Bracken 000405420151.251.2
27EngKevin Pietersen 609202600149.249.2
28EngJames Anderson 000394820147.447.4
29SLChaminda Vaas000114210146.646.6
30WIDwayne Bravo000354220146.646.6
31EngLiam Plunkett 29340434210145.445.4
32IreDave Langford-Smith 870335410144.644.6
33SAAndre Hall8120606020142.442.4
34WIIan Bradshaw000275410140.240.2
35BanMohammad Ashraful 456300139.639.6
36SLFarveez Maharoof001264210136.636.6
37AusShaun Tait 00061602013535
38WIMarlon Samuels27310233000130.230.2
39SAHerschelle Gibbs171920128.828.8
40SLRussel Arnold550171910128.228.2
41SLUpul Tharanga263710127.427.4
42NZCraig McMillan273400126.826.8
43EngAndrew Flintoff 011174800125.625.6
44WIJerome Taylor000374810125.425.4
45EngMonty Panesar 00047601012525
46IreJeremy Bray 417200124.424.4
47BanMohammad Rafique 7170486010124.424.4
48SAMark Boucher (wk)22260| 00123.223.2
49BanAftab Ahmed 121620121.221.2
50WIRamnaresh Sarwan367110120.220.2
51NZBrendon McCullum (wk)004|| 0012020
52WIDenesh Ramdin (wk)004| 0012020
53AusAndrew Symonds 18130191200116.216.2
54BanSaqibul Hasan 420049601011515
55EngPaul Collingwood 31540201800113.213.2
56BanSyed Rasel 010586010113.213.2
57BanTamim Iqbal 6710111.411.4
58EngMichael Vaughan265200110.410.4
59IreAndrew White1829113700110.410.4
60IreEoin Morgan 18340018.88.8
61AusMichael Hussey 530017.67.6
62IreNiall O'Brien (wk) 11190| 0016.86.8
63SAMakhaya Ntini78068541016.86.8
64NZStephen Fleming7110015.25.2
65AusGlenn McGrath 00062541015.25.2
66IreAndre Botha 28560353600155
67IreKevin O'Brien 1746113180013.63.6
68BanHabibul Bashar18471013.43.4
69EngEd Joyce 021013.43.4
70WIBrian Lara0000100
71WIDwayne Smith0000100
72SAAshwell Prince13001-0.4-0.4
73NZRoss Taylor01001-0.8-0.8
74IreWilliam Porterfield 02001-1.6-1.6
75BanShahriar Nafees 03001-2.4-2.4
76SAJustin Kemp16001-2.8-2.8
77NZJeetan Patel0004248001-3.6-3.6
78IreJohn Mooney 0102224001-3.6-3.6
79NZLou Vincent06001-4.8-4.8
80NZDaniel Vettori0005360001-5-5
81EngIan Bell 519001-5.2-5.2
82EngJamie Dalrymple 31212924001-8.4-8.4
83IreBoyd Rankin 0003830001-14-14
84SACharles Langeveldt060826010.51-14.3-14.3
85BanMushfiqur Rahim (wk)6330| 001-14.4-14.4
86BanMashrafe Mortaza 71406660001-15.2-15.2
87BanAbdur Razzak 0208660101-15.6-15.6
88SAShaun Pollock770836000.51-26.1-26.1

Ct: Catches taken | St: Stumpings | Rc: Runs conceded | Bb: Balls bowled | W: Wickets taken | M: Matches played.

*Run outs are counted as 1 for a direct hit, and 0.5 if the fielder is an equal participant in a run out dismissal.

Here's the Chernoff gallery of the top nine Super Eight players:

"Jayasuriya", "Hayden", "de Villiers", "Clarke", "Chanderpaul" and "Ponting" have round, smiling faces and wide noses, typical of pure batsmen. "Smith", another pure batsman, has lost his smile because he bowled two expensive overs.

"Styris" is the batting allrounder with the taller nose and bigger ears, while "Gayle", who hasn't scored too many runs, is looking almost like a bowler with a tall nose, big ears and a tapered face.

To see the faces of the nine highest scoring batsmen in the Super Eight, click here.

To see the faces of the nine highest wicket-taking bowlers in the Super Eight, click here.

Finally, take a look at the graph below:

This chart shows the average MVP points of the players whose teams have made it to the Super Eight.

It would be tempting to read off possible semi-finalists from this list, it's really too early for that.

Sri Lanka have got these high points against Bangladesh, and West Indies against Ireland. So expect their average to fall. On the other hand, expect South Africa's average to rise because they've already played the toughest Super Eight team: Australia.

Once a few Super Eight matches are played this chart could indeed start pointing towards the possible semi-finalists.


This list and the Chernoff faces have been prepared by my colleagues Debasish Ghosh and K Anil Kumar of Cranes Software International Limited using the SYSTAT software

The Cup: Complete Coverage

Would you like to join the Cricket and Cricket Lovers Discussion Group and discuss your cricket views with other cricket freaks? Click here. Have fun!

 Email this Article      Print this Article

© 2007 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback