The Web


Home > Sports > News > Report

Magimairaj, Pillai unbeaten

August 04, 2004 21:06 IST

Mumbai's Neeta Sanghvi, Chitra Magimairaj of Karnataka and Vidya Pillai of Tamil Nadu scored convincing victories to confirm quarter-final berths in the seventh Bombay Gymkhana All India Ladies Open Snooker Tournament 2004, sponsored by CYGNUS, on Wednesday.

Magimairaj and Pillai maintained a clean record as they registered their sixth victory, with one tie remaining in their respective groups.

Magimairaj beat 75-year-old Kamala Chandra Babu (TN) 63-10, 54-42 in Group 'A', while Pillai, who has yet to drop a frame, overcame Mumbai's Vaishali Dholakia 58-14, 48-11 and later Shereen Bano 72-10, 66-23 in Group 'D'.

Sanghvi prevailed over Pune's Ayesha Aga 50-10, 46-29 while Saranya Baskaran of Tamil Nadu 51-43, 53-4 to complete four wins.


Tuesday late night:

Group 'A': Kamla Chandra Babu (TN) bt Gurjeet Nagee (Mumbai) 49-35, 39-26; Chitra Magimairaj (Ktk) bt Aditi Puranik (MP) 58-11, 65-10.

Group 'B': Mandeep Kaur (Ktk) bt Lavanya Baskaran (TN) 41-40, 43-48, 60-24.

Group 'C': Neeta Sanghvi (Mumbai) bt Heena Khandelwal (Mumbai) 47-34, 68-56; Ayesha Aga (Mah) bt Mudra Shastry (MP) 45-5, 52-26.

Group 'D': Vidya Pillai (TN) bt Ashwini Puranik 62-28, 59-32; Neha Sanghvi (Mumbai) bt Vaishali Dholakia (Mumbai) 42-32, 46-32; Sangeeta Hemchand (Mumbai) bt Bhanumathi Mendon (Ktk) 51-29, 59-11.

Wednesday's results:

Group 'A': Meenal Thakur (Mumbai) bt Kamala Chandra Babu (TN) 55-22, 61-27; T.V. Sridevi (Ktk) bt Suniti Damani (Kolkata) 50-11, 43-31; Ritu Shrivastava (MP) w/o Gurjeet Nagee (Mumbai); Chitra Magimairaj (Ktk) bt Kamala Chandra Babu (TN) 63-10, 54-42.

Group 'B': R. Umadevi (Karnataka) bt Lavanya Baskaran (TN) 62-44, 52-15; Pooja Galundia (Raj) bt Tusha Ratogi (Mumbai) 71-6, 49-23; Anoo Kulkarni (Mumbai) bt Mandeep Kaur (Ktk) 53-43, 55-16; Lavanya Baskaran bt Sonal Mamoowala (Mumbai) 52-38, 48-24.

Group 'C': Anuja Thakur (Mumbai) bt Saranya Baskaran (TN) 59-12, 44-4; Neeta Sanghvi (Mumbai) bt Ayesha Aga (Mah) 50-10, 46-29; Heena Khandelwal (Mumbai) bt Mudra Shastry (MP) 45-9, 61-0; Neeta Sanghvi bt Saranya Baskaran 51-43, 53-4.

Group 'D': Sangeeta Hemchand (Mumbai) bt Shereen Bano (AP) 55-10, 48-31; Vidya Pillai (TN) Vaishali Dholakia (Mumbai) 58-14, 48-11; Ashwini Puranik (MP) bt Neha Sanghvi (Mumbai) 49-16, 52-23; Vidya Pillai bt Shereen Bano 72-10, 66-23.

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2004 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.