» News » Who Held More Rallies In Gujarat Than Modi?

Who Held More Rallies In Gujarat Than Modi?

Last updated on: December 14, 2022 13:15 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Hemantkumar Shivsaran/ compares the number of rallies held by top BJP leaders in Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh. 

The word 'tsunami' got a new twist post the Gujarat assembly elections, as tsuNaMo, after the Bharatiya Janata Party on Thursday won 156 out of 182 seats in the state.

Everyone had one name on their lips and that was BJP supremo Narendra Modi, who had campaigned extensively to ensure the BJP's historic triumph in Gujarat.

Modi untiringly held 28 rallies according to n(extrenal link) but when it came to distant Himachal Pradesh Modi only held four election rallies for the 68 assembly seats.

Amit Shah, the number two leader in the BJP, held the maximum rallies in the Himalayan state -- 9.


Shah also outdid Modi in Gujarat, addressing as many as 36 rallies, followed by Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath who held 23 rallies.

Yogi, too, like Modi, did fewer rallies in Himachal -- only five.

Thus the entire burden to win the state was on Himachal native Jagat Prakash Nadda, the BJP's national president who held 20 rallies in his home state, but riven by dissidence, the BJP could win only 25 seats and lost power in HP.

The only solace for Nadda is that the difference between the BJP and Congress was just 37,974 votes or 0.9% of the vote share.

The Congress vote share was 43.9 percent (18,52,504 votes); the BJP won 43 percent (18,14,530 votes).

Which begs the question: Could Himachal have been retained if the BJP leaders had focussed on it a little more?

Hemantkumar Shivsaran/ compares the number of rallies held by the BJP's top leadership in the two states.

IMAGE: The Bharatiya Janata Party's top vote-catcher and Prime Minister Narendra Damodardas Modi undertook an unprecedented 30 km-long roadshow through Ahmedabad city, December 1, 2022. Photograph: PTI Photo
Narendra Damodardas Modi
December 2 Kankrej
December 2 Patan
December 2 Sojitra
December 1 Panchmahal
December 1 Himatnagar
December 1 Ahmedabad (roadshow)
November 28 Kutch
November 28 Jamnagar
November 28 Bhavnagar
November 28 Rajkot
November 27 Surat
November 27 Kheda
November 24 Palanpur
November 24 Modasa
November 24 Dahegam
November 24 Bavla
November 23 Mehsana
November 23 Dahod
November 23 Vadodara
November 23 Bhavnagar
November 21 Surendranagar
November 21 Jambusar
November 21 Navsari
November 20 Veraval
November 20 Dhoraji
November 20 Amreli
November 20 Botad
November 19 Valsad
Himachal Pradesh
November 9 Chambi (Kangra)
November 9 Sujanpur (Hamirpur)
November 5 Sundernagar
November 5 Solan

IMAGE: Defence Minister Rajnath Singh at a meeting for the Himachal Pradesh assembly election at Balh in Mandi, November 7, 2022. Photograph: ANI Photo
Rajnath Singh
November 30 Balasinor (Mahisagar)
November 30 Vadodara
November 30 Ahmedabad
Himachal Pradesh
November 7  Balh
November 7 Baijnath (Kangra)
November 3 Arki (Solan)
November 3 Jaisinghpur (Kangra)
November 3 Dehra (Kangra)

IMAGE: Amit Anilchandra Shah, who was in charge of the BJP's strategy and campaign for the Gujarat assembly election at a road show in Sanand, December 3, 2022. Photograph: ANI Photo
Union Home Minister Amit Shah
December 2 Vadodara (roadshow)
December 2 Mehsana
December 2 Bechraji
December 2 Vijaypur
Dec 1 Sanand (Roadshow)
December 1 Visnagar
December 1 Ahmedabad
November 30 Santrampur
November 29 Garbada
November 29 Thasra
November 29 Kapadvanj
November 28 Kheralu (Mehsana)
November 28 Savli (Vadodara)
November 28 Bhiloda (Aravalli)
November 26 Rajula (Amreli )
November 26 Talaja (Bhavnagar)
November 26 Mahuva (Bhavnagar)
November 26 Jafrabad
November 25 Nandod (roadshow)
November 25 Nadiad (Kheda)
November 25 Jhalod
November 25 Vagra
November 23 Jasdan (Rajkot)
November 23 Dasada (Surendranagar)
November 23 Bardoli (Surat)
November 22 Khambhat (Anand)
November 22 Tharad (Banaskantha)
November 22 Deesa (Banaskantha)
November 21 Khambhalia (Dwarka)
November 21 Kodinar (Gir Somnath)
November 21 Mangrole (Junagarh)
November 20 Nijhar (Tapi)
November 20 Dediapada (Narmada)
November 16 Ahmedabad
October 13 Ahmedabad
October 13 Navsari
Himachal Pradesh
November 10 Sullah
November 10 Paonta Sahib
November 6 Nagrota
November 6 Nakikhad (Jaswan Pragpur)
November 6 Maihatpur(Una)
November 1 Sihunta (Chamba)
November 1 Baral(Mandi)
November 1 Bhattakufar (Shimla)
October 15 Sataun (Sirmaur)
Bhupendra Patel
December 2 Ahmedabad
December 1 Ahmedabad (roadshow)
December 1 Vadgam (Banaskantha)
December 1 Bijapur (Mehsana) (Roadshow)
November 30 Amraiwadi (roadshow)
November 29 Patan (roadshow)
November 28 Becharaji (roadshow)
November 25 Keshod (Junagadh)
November 25 Visavadar (Junagadh)
November 22 KhedBrahma (Sabarkantha)
November 22 Morwa Hadaf (Panchmahal)
November 16 Ghatlodia
November 14 Mundra (Kutch)

IMAGE: Bharatiya Janata Party president Jagat Prakash Nadda, second from left, shows the victory sign during a public meeting for the Himachal Pradesh assembly elections, at Fatehpur-Ramlila Maidan in Kangra, November 10, 2022. Photograph: ANI Photo
Jagat Prakash Nadda
November 29 Devgadh Baria (Dahod)
November 23 BAPS Swaminarayan Mandir, Gadhada
November 22 Shehra
November 22 Chanasma
November 22 Sidhpur
November 18 Navsari
November 18 Ankaleshwar
October 12 Bahucharaji
October 12 Mehsana
October 12 Devbhoomi Dwarika
Himachal Pradesh
November 10 Fatehpur
November 10 Ghumaravin
November 10 Jhanduta
November 7 Rampur (Shimla)
November 7 Kotkhai
November 7 Rohru
November 6 Shimla
November 6 Solan
November 5 Behna Jattan
November 5 Nova Rajpura
November 5 Potwarkhana Kotla (Bilaspur)
November 4 Sandhole
November 4 Dharampur
November 4 Mandi
November 3 Chamba
November 3 Una
November 2 Bilaspur
October 30 Kaza (Lahaul Spiti)
October 30 Manali & Kullu
October 5 Bilaspur

IMAGE: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath addresses a public meeting in support of BJP candidate Sanjay Guleria for the Himachal Pradesh assembly election at Jawali in Kangra, November 4, 2022. Photograph: ANI Photo
Yogi Adityanath
November 18 Wankaner Morbi
November 18 Jhagadia Bharuch
November 18 Choryasi Surat
November 21 Sankheda Chhota Udaipur
November 21 Mehmedabad Kheda
November 23 Dwarka
November 23 Rapar Kutch
November 23 Dhrangadhra Morbi
November 26 Somnath Gir Somnath
November 26 Gariadhar Bhavnagar
November 26 Savarkundla Amreli
November 26 Viramgam Ahmedabad
November 29 Lunawada Mahisagar
November 29 Umreth Anand
November 29 Dabhoi Vadodara
November 29 Godhra Panchmahal
December 1 Byad (Aravalli)
December 1 Dhanera Banaskantha
December 1 Dhandhuka Ahmedabad
December 1 Waghodia Vadodara
December 3 Mahudha Kheda
December 3 Dholka Ahmedabad
December 3 Khambhat Anand
Himachal Pradesh
November 2 Barsar
November 2 Baldwara
November 2 Parwanoo
November 4 Jawali
November 4 Ghumarwin
Get Rediff News in your Inbox: