News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

Rediff News  All News  » News » Phase 7: The 89 seats that will go to polls

Phase 7: The 89 seats that will go to polls

April 29, 2014 16:48 IST

Rediff Labs

Eighty-nine Lok Sabha seats spread over seven states and two Union Territories will go to polls in the seventh phase on Wednesday.

These include all 26 seats in Gujarat, and all 13 in Punjab; 17 seats in Andhra Pradesh, 14 in Uttar Pradesh, nine in West Bengal, seven in Bihar and one each in Jammu and Kashmir and Union Territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

Complete Coverage: Lok Sabha Election 2014

Prominent among them are Sonia Gandhi, Madhusudan Mistry, Capt Amarinder Singh and Sriprakash Jaiswal of the Congress and Narendra Modi, LK Advani, Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Murli Manohar Joshi and Uma Bharti of BJP. Other prominent candidates include Sharad Yadav of JDU and Farooq Abdullah of National Conference.

Meanwhile, in Andhra Pradesh, the stage is all set for Wednesday's polling in the 17 Lok Sabha and 119 assembly constituencies of Telangana region.

A total 265 candidates are in the contest in 17 Lok Sabha Constituencies while 1669 candidates are in the fray for 119 assembly segments.