News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

Rediff News  All News  » News » In PHOTOS: The big winners and losers in Gujarat

In PHOTOS: The big winners and losers in Gujarat

Last updated on: December 20, 2012 17:40 IST

Image: Gujarat CM Narendra Modi is all set for a third term

Aiming for a hat-trick, Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi notched victory in his Maninagar constituency on Thursday by a margin of more than 82,000 votes.

Modi defeated Congress' Shweta Bhatt, the wife of suspended police officer Sanjeev Bhatt.


Amit Shah (BJP) wins from Naranpura

Image: Amit Shah
Amit Shah, Modi's right hand man and an accused in the alleged fake encounters of Sohrabhuddin Sheikh and Tulsiram Prajapati, has won from Naranpura defeating his nearest Congress rival Jitu B Patel by a margin of 63,335 votes.

The former minister of state for home polled 1,03,988 votes, while Patel secured 40,653 votes.

Shah, the close confidante of chief minister Narendra Modi, is currently out on bail after Supreme Court rejected the Central Bureau of Investigation's plea to cancel the relief granted to him in the Sohrabuddin Sheikh encounter case.Shah returned to Gujarat after a gap of two years, following the SC judgment allowing him to enter the state.

The CBI had named Shah as the "kingpin" in the chargesheet filed in Tulsi Prajapati fake encounter case.


Keshubhai Patel (GPP) wins from Visavadar

Image: Keshubhai Patel

Gujarat Parivartan Party leader and former chief minister Keshubhai Patel has won from the Visavadar constituency in Saurashtra region.

Shweta Bhatt (Congress) loses from Maningar

Image: Shweta Bhatt

Congress candidate and suspended IPS officer's wife Shweta Bhatt of the Congress lost to Modi in the Maninagar constituency.

Praful Patel (BJP) loses from Himatnagar

Image: Praful Patel

Gujarat Home Minister Praful Patel loses from Himatnagar seat.

Jagruti Pandya (GPP) loses from Ellisbridge

Image: Jagruti Pandya

Jagruti Pandya, former state home minister Haren Pandya's widow, was fighting on a ticket from Keshubhai Patel's Gujarat Parivartan Party.

Gordhan Zadaphia (GPP) loses from Gondal

Image: Gordhan Zadaphia

General secretary of Gujarat Parivartan Party Gordhan Zadaphia has lost from the Gondal constituency.

Dileep Sanghani (BJP) loses from Amreli

Image: Dileep Sanghani

Gujarat Law Minister Dileep Sanghani of the BJP has lost from Amreli.

Saurabh Patel (BJP) wins from Akota

Image: Saurabh Patel

Saurabh Patel, Minister of State for Finance, Industry, has won from the Akota constituency.

A close confidant of Modi, Patel was among few candidates who was allowed to change his constituency because of changed demographic equations in Botad.

He moved to his own Patel community dominated seat of Akota in Baroda.

Fakir Vaghela (BJP) loses from Vadgam

Image: Fakir Vaghela

Gujarat minister Fakir Vaghela has lost from the Vadgam seat.

Arjun Modhwadia (Cong) loses from Porbandar

Image: Arjun Modhwadia

Gujarat Congress chief Arjun Modhwadia loses from Porbandar, Mahatma Gandhi's birthplace.

He was sent a showcause notice by the Election Commission for his latest tirade against Modi where he called him a 'monkey'.

Jay Narayan Vyas (BJP) loses from Sidhpur

Image: Jay Narayan Vyas
Photographs: Prasanna D Zore/

BJP minister Jay Narayan Vyas has lost from the Sidhpur constituency.

Nitin Patel (BJP) wins from Mahesana

Image: Nitin Patel
Photographs: TV grab

Nitin Patel of the BJP has won the Mehsana seat. He was fighting Congress's Natwarlal Patel. 

Patel holds the water resources and urban development portfolio.

Mahendrasinh Vaghela (Cong) wins Baya

Photographs: TV grab

Mahendrasinh Vaghela, Congress candidate from Bayad and son of Congress leader Shankarsinh Vaghela has won the Bayad seat.

Babu Bokhiriya (BJP) wins Porbandar

Image: Babu Bokhiriya

Pitted against Gujarat Congress chief Modhwadia, Bokhiriya, the former minister who is accused in the Rs 200-crore mining contract and a suspect in the murder of Congress leader Mulu Modhwadia, has won from Porbandar.

Kanu Kalsariya (IND) loses Gariadhar

Photographs: TV grab

Rebel BJP MLA Kanu Kalsaria, who fought the elections under the banner of Sadbhavna Manch, lost to BJP candidate in Gariadhar constituency in Bhavnagar district.

Kalsaria, who rebelled against BJP and led a successful agitation against Nirma Cement Plant, tested his luck in the political field by fielding six candidates as independents under the banner of Sadbhavna Manch.

However, Kalsaria was able to secure only 10,963 votes, while BJP candidate Keshubhai Nakarai polled 53,377 votes and won.Congress candidate Babubhai Mangukiya came second with 37,349 votes.

All the other candidates put up by Kalsaria under the Sadbhavna Manch also lost.

Shaktisinh Gohil (Cong) loses in Bhavnagar Rural

Leader of Opposition Shaktisinh Gohi has lost from Bhavnagar rural.

He was defeated by Purshottam Solanki, minister of state for fisheries in the Modi government.

Jitu Vaghani (BJP) wins from Bhavnagar West

Image: Jitu Vaghani
Photographs: Courtesy: Facebook

BJP Yuva Morcha president Jitu Vaghani has won the Bhavnagar West seat.

Jayant Patel Bosky (NCP) wins from Umreth

Image: Jayant Patel alias Bosky

Jayant Patel alias Bosky, president of Congress ally Nationalist Congress Party's Gujarat unit, has won from Umreth. He was contesting against BJP's Govindbhai Parmar.

Anandiben Patel (BJP) wins from Ghatlodia

Another Modi confidante and Revenue Minister Anandiben Patel has won Ghatlodia.

Said to be second in command, both in government and the party, delimitation made Patel change her constituency to the BJP bastion of Ghatlodiya from Patan.

Shankersinh Vaghela (Cong) wins from Kapadwanj

Image: Shankersinh Vaghela
Congress leader Shankersinh Vaghela won from Kapadwanj seat in Kheda district by a slender margin of 6,597 votes defeating his BJP rival Kanubhai Dabhi.

Vaghela, head of Gujarat Congress campaign committee for the 2012 assembly elections, polled 88,641 votes while his opponent Dabhi secured 82,044 votes.

After his victory, Vaghela said though he is happy on winning the seat, he is sad that the party has lost. The former Gujarat CM said he accepts the verdict of the people in the state."We will work hard and try to convince the people that Congress is the best option," he told reporters.

Vaghela's son Mahendrasinh also won from Bayad constituency in Sabarkantha, on a Congress ticket defeating BJP rival Udeisinh Jhala.

Vitthal Radadia (Cong) wins from Dhoraji

Photographs: TV grab
Sitting Congress MP Vitthal Radadia, who had courted a controversy by brandishing a gun at a toll booth in Gujarat, emerged victorious from Dhoraji seat in the assembly elections by a margin of 2,916 votes.

He defeated BJP candidate Harilal Patel who polled 72,258 votes in the keenly-contested battle.Radadiya hit the news for his 'gun-toting' act at a poll plaza on a national highway apparently to evade paying road tax when his vehicle was stopped by employees there.

The Congress strongman from Saurashtra region had recently helped the party organise a massive farmers' rally in Rajkot from where Congress president Sonia Gandhi kicked off election campaign in Gujarat.

Radadia was caught on camera and later booked for brandishing the double-barrelled shotgun at Karjan toll plaza staff on the express highway.

TOP photo features of the week