» News » Battle for 5 states: Big winners and losers

Battle for 5 states: Big winners and losers

By The Rediff News Bureau
Last updated on: March 11, 2017 19:03 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

With the counting for the high-stakes assembly elections on in five states – Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Manipur and Goa -- here’s a look at some of the big names and where they stand.

-- Five-State Assembly Election 2017

-- The Five-State Verdict: LIVE LEADS/RESULTS

>> Ameeta Sinh

Former state minister Ameeta Sinh, running for the Congress, from the Amethi seat has lost with only 20,291. Interestingly, she is facing off against her husband Sanjay’s estranged wife Garima Sinh.

>> Shivpal Yadav

The SP leader, contesting from Jaswantnagar in UP, has won. For those who don’t remember, Shivpal is the Mulayam’s brother and was in the eye of the storm when the father went up against his son Akhilesh before the elections began. After securing victory, Shivpal said, "I thank the people of Jaswantnagar for my victory. Rest we accept people's mandate."

>> Aparna Yadav

The daughter-in-law of Mulayam Singh Yadav has lost from the Lucknow Cantt constituency. The ‘choti bahu’, who was up against sitting MLA Rita Bahuguna Joshi of the BJP, got 61606 votes. 

>> Rita Bahuguna Joshi

The now BJP leader -- she switched from the Congress to the BJP ahead of polling -- won from the Lucknow Cantt constituency with a tally of 95402 votes. SP's Aparna Yadav came a far second with 61,606 votes.

>> Azam Khan

The fiery SP leader who is contesting from Rampur has won after notching up 1,02,100 votes. The BJP candidate who came in second won only 55,258.

READ: Why Rampur always elects Azam Khan

>> Garima Singh

In the battle of wife vs former wife in Amethi, it's the former wife who has won. Garima, the former wife of Congress's Sanjay Singh has won with 64,226.

>> Shrikant Sharma

BJP national secretary Shrikant Sharma wins from Mathura.

>> Captain Amarinder Singh

The Maharaja of Patiala has won from Patiala urban seat by a margin of over 51000 votes. 

>> Parkash Singh Badal


The Akali leader has won from Lambi. The veteran leader facing off against Amarinder Singh won by a margin of 22,770 votes. 

>> Navjot Singh Sidhu


The cricketer-turned-politician now contesting on a Congress ticket won from the Amritsar East constituency with a tally of 60,477 votes. 

>> Sukhbir Singh Badal

The Akali leader and the son of Parkash Singh Badal won from Jalalabad with a tally of 75,271 votes. Aam Aadmi Party's Bhagwant Mann came in second with 56771 votes. 

>> Harish Rawat


Chief Minister Harish Rawat loses Haridwar (Rural) seat to BJP's Yatishwaranand by over 12,000 votes. The Congress leader in the state has also lost the Kichha seat.

>> Laxmikant Parsekar


The BJP man and current chief minister in Goa has lost from Mandrem.

>> Okram Ibobi Singh


The Manipur CM and the man from Congress won from Thoubal with 18,649 votes. 

>> Irom Sharmila

The activist who fought against AFSPA, who has newly formed her party, lost from Thoubal. She was able to get only 90 votes, relegating her to the fourth position. 

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
The Rediff News Bureau /
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus