« Back to articlePrint this article

5-state polls: Big winners and losers

Last updated on: March 11, 2022 02:46 IST

Counting for assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Goa and Manipur was held on Thursday.

Here's how the big names fared.


Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath won the Gorakhpur Urban seat by more than 1 lakh votes.

Punjab Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi lost both the assembly seats he contested -- Bhadaur and Chamkaur Sahib.

Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav won the Karhal constituency by over 67,000 votes.

Two-time Punjab chief minister Amarinder Singh lost his home turf Patiala Urban seat by a margin of 19,873 votes.

Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu lost Amritsar East seat to AAP's Jeevan Jyot Kaur by 6,750 votes.

Independent candidate Utpal Parrikar, the son of Goa's former chief minister Manohar Parrikar, lost to Bharatiya Janata Party's Atanasio Monserratte from the Panaji assembly seat.

Aam Aadmi party's chief ministerial candidate Bhagwant Mann won Dhuri constituency by 58,206 votes.

Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami lost his Khatima seat -- which he had won in the last two consecutive polls -- to Bhuvan Chandra Kapri of the Congress by 6,579 votes.

Former chief minister Harish Rawat, who led the Congress campaign in Uttarakhand, lost to BJP's Mohan Singh Bisht from Lalkuwa by 17,527 votes.

Five-term Punjab chief minister and Shiromani Akali Dal leader Parkash Singh Badal was defeated on his home turf Lambi by 11,396 votes. AAP's Gurmeet Singh Khudian won the seat.

Shiromani Akali Dal president Sukhbir Singh Badal lost to AAP's Jagdeep Kamboj from Jalalabad seat by 30,930 votes.

Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant won his traditional Sanquelim assembly constituency.

Manipur CM and BJP leader N Biren Singh defeated his nearest Congress rival by 18,271 votes in Heingang seat.