News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay  » News » Parliament attack martyrs' kin take back bravery medals

Parliament attack martyrs' kin take back bravery medals

Source: PTI
March 30, 2013 16:18 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The family of eight security personnel, who died in the 2001 Parliament attack, on Saturday took back the gallantry medals which they had returned in 2006 to protest against delay in the execution of Afzal Guru.

The kin of those who lost their lives in the attack received the medals from President Pranab Mukherjee. The families had decided to take back the medals after Afzal was hanged last month.

The families had returned the gallantry medals they had received in honour of the slain personnel to the Rashtrapati Bhavan on December 13, 2006.

Daughter of slain CRPF constable Kamlesh Kumari, Shweta Singh said, "I was here for my mother and I am grateful to the President that he rejected the mercy plea of Guru. It has honoured my mother's martyrdom."

Delhi Police constable late Vijender Singh's wife, Jayawati said, "I wanted nothing else from the government other than sentencing the perpetrators of the attack. It is a huge relief that martyrdom of my husband got its due."

M S Bitta, chairman of Anti-Terrorist Front, who accompanied the families to Rashtrapati Bhavan, said he was grateful to the President for giving back the medals.

Bitta also urged the President to clear all the pending death sentence cases, especially of the former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi and former Punjab chief minister Beant Singh's assassins.

"Rajiv Gandhi is a martyr and according to me one should risk the government, if required, to convict his assassins," Bitta said.

In a memorandum given by Bitta to the President, he has requested for release of the cash award, which was earlier announced for the security personnel, who had fought the terrorists at the time of the attack on Parliament.

The families of CRPF constable Kamlesh, CPWD Watch and Ward personnel M S Negi and Parliament Security personnel J P Yadav had returned the Ashok Chakra, while the kin of five police personnel returned the Kirti Chakra.

Those who had received the Kirti Chakra were Delhi Police sub inspectors Ghanshyam and Nanak Chand, assistant sub inspector Ram Pal and head constables Om Prakash and Vijender Singh.

Guru, convicted in the attack on Parliament on December 13, 2001 was hanged in Tihar Jail on February 9.

A special court had sentenced Guru to death in December 2002 for his role in aiding and abetting the attack which was upheld by the Supreme Court on August 4, 2005.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.