News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay  » News » BJP sweeps Guwahati civic polls, Cong draws blank

BJP sweeps Guwahati civic polls, Cong draws blank

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Utkarsh Mishra
Last updated on: April 24, 2022 20:45 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The Bharatiya Janata Party-Asom Gana Parishad alliance swept the Guwahati Municipal Corporation (GMC) polls on Sunday, bagging 58 out of the total 60 wards, while the main opposition party Congress drew a blank.

IMAGE: BJP candidate celebrates with his supporters after winning a seat in the Guwahati Municipal Election 2022, in Guwahati on Sunday. Photograph: ANI Photo

The other two wards were won one each by the Aam Aadmi Party and the Assam Jatiya Parishad, the Assam State Election Commission said in a release.

The BJP won in 52 wards, including three uncontested candidates, while its ally AGP clinched six wards.


Altogether, 52.80 per cent voter turnout was registered with EVMs used for voting in all polling stations for the first time in GMC elections.

As many as 197 candidates were in fray.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma lauded BJP workers for the resounding victory and thanked people of the state for the massive mandate.

'Thank you Guwahati! The people of this lovely city have given a resounding mandate to @BJP4Assam to build on the agenda of development. They have also blessed the hardwork of the state government under CM @himantabiswa. My gratitude to every BJP Karyakarta for the hardwork,' Modi tweeted.

Sharing the PM's tweet on his official handle on the micro-blogging site, Sarma wrote: 'We're immensely grateful to you Adarniya Pradhan Mantri ji for your good wishes and blessings. This has been a result of your astounding vision and robust development initiatives in the North East.'

Guwahati is profusely in gratitude, he added.

Former chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal also hailed the BJP and its ally for the triumph in the GMC polls.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Utkarsh Mishra© Copyright 2023 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.