News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

This article was first published 12 years ago  » News » Goa: BJP-MGP steal show; curtains down for Cong stalwarts

Goa: BJP-MGP steal show; curtains down for Cong stalwarts

Source: PTI
March 06, 2012 16:27 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Many of the Congress stalwarts including four from Churchill Alemao family and state party chief Subhas Shirodkar bit the dust as the Bharatiya Janata Party-Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party alliance on Tuesday managed to bag majority of seats in Goa assembly elections.

The Congress-Nationalist Congress Party ministers including Churchill Alemao, Joaquim Alemao, Manohar Asgaonkar, Filip Nery Rodrigues, Jose Philip Dsouza, Nilkant Halarnkar and others lost the polls to the new faces mostly fielded by the BJP-MGP as election results were declared on Tuesday.

In Salcette, which is a Congress bastion, the party won two seats out of eight. The BJP, which had fielded several Catholic candidates, managed to make a hold in Salcette.

Catholic candidates like Matanhy Saldanha, Michael Lobo, Glen Ticlo, Carlose Almeida defeated stalwarts. The NCP, which had won on three seats in 2007 elections, has got a single seat. The party fought the election in alliance with Congress.

Goa Pradesh Congress Committee President Subhas Shirodkar also suffered defeat at the hands of BJP's Mahadev Naik in the Shiroda constituency.

Goa Vikas Party, a regional political outfit, which was rejuvenated by Fransisco Miccky Pacheco, managed to win Nuvem and Benaulim seats. Caetan Silva of the party defeated Congress' Valanka Alemao.

All the four candidates from Alemao family -- Valanka (Benaulim), Joaquim (Cuncolim), Churchill (Navelim) and Yuri (Sanguem), lost the election.

'Family raj' was one of the important issue during the polls. Only one of BJP's sitting MLA Damodar Naik was defeated by independent candidate Vijay Sardesai in Fatorda constituency.

Congress candidate from Cuncolim constituency Joaquim Aleamo lost to BJP's candidate Subhash Naik.

In Calangute constituency, BJP's Michael Lobo won against Congress' Agnelo Fernandes. BJP Goa chief Laxmikant Parsekar said that the party will stake claim to form the next government in alliance with the MGP.

For Rediff Realtime News on Goa poll results, click here 

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.