NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Ellis Island Medal for Bobby Jindal, two others

Ellis Island Medal for Bobby Jindal, two others

Last updated on: May 07, 2008 14:44 IST

Louisiana Governor Bobby Jindal, eminent Indian American community leader Sampat Shivangi and retired radiologist Dr Dhiraj H Shah have been selected for the prestigious Ellis Island Medal of Honour, one of America's most prestigious awards. 

The Indian Americans will be awarded the medal for their contribution to strengthening of Indo-US relations and philanthropic work in both India and the US, at an award ceremony on May 10 at the historic Ellis Island in New York City.

Shivangi was instrumental in obtaining a first ever large US Congressional grant for the study of Diabetes Mellitus amongst Indian Americans, who have one of the highest incidents of the disease.

He served the American Association of Physicians of Indian Origin as Secretary, Vice President and was the founding President of AAPI Mississippi.

He also worked as adviser to the US Secretary of Health and Human Services at NHSC and was the first Indian American member of the Mississippi State Board of Health.

The medal is given to American citizens for their outstanding contributions to their own ethnic groups, their ancestral countries and to the United States.

In 2007, as many as seven Indian Americans were selected for the award - Dr Jacob Eapen, Daniel JU Thomas, Smita Shah, Kenny Desai, Dr Akshay Desai, Dr Kiran Patel and Dr Mammen Zachariah.

Past recipients of the medal, which is recognised by both US House of Representative and the Senate, include six former US Presidents, Nobel laureates and other leaders in the field of industry, education, arts, and sports.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.