News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay  » News » 6 disqualified Himachal Congress MLAs move SC

6 disqualified Himachal Congress MLAs move SC

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Hemant Waje
Last updated on: March 06, 2024 01:56 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Six Congress MLAs, who were disqualified after they cross-voted in the recent Rajya Sabha polls in Himachal Pradesh, moved the Supreme Court on Tuesday against their disqualification.

IMAGE: Himachal Minister Vikramaditya Singh leaves from Chandigarh on Tuesday, after meeting with the six disqualified Congress MLAs. Photograph: ANI Photo

The ex-MLAs have filed a plea against the February 29 decision of the state Legislative Assembly Speaker Kuldeep Singh Pathania.

These Congress rebels, who had voted in favour of the Bharatiya Janata Party nominee Harsh Mahajan in the Rajya Sabha polls on February 27, later abstained from voting on the Budget, defying a party whip.

Senior Congress leader Abhishek Singhvi lost the Rajya Sabha election owing to cross voting by the rebels.


The ruling Congress had sought their disqualification on the ground that they abstained from voting on the Budget, defying a party whip.

The disqualified MLAs are Rajinder Rana, Sudhir Sharma, Inder Dutt Lakhanpal, Devinder Kumar Bhutoo, Ravi Thakur and Chetanya Sharma.

Following their disqualification, the effective strength of the House has gone down from 68 to 62, while the number of Congress MLAs has shrunk from 40 to 34.

The rebel MLAs, in their petition, have alleged violation of the principle of natural justice, claiming they did not get adequate opportunity to respond to the disqualification petition.

It was for the first time in the history of Himachal Pradesh that an MLA was disqualified under the anti-defection law aimed at checking defections.

Announcing the disqualification of the six MLAs at a press conference on February 29, the speaker had said they attracted disqualification under the anti-defection law as they defied the whip.

He ruled they ceased to be members of the House with immediate effect.

The petition seeking their disqualification was filed by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Harshwardhan for defying the whip that required them to be present in the House and vote for the budget.

Senior advocate Satya Pal Jain, who appeared for the rebel Congress MLAs, had argued that they were only given the show-cause notice and neither the copy of the petition nor the annexure were supplied.

Jain had said seven days' time was mandatorily allowed for replying to the notice but no time was given to them.

Under the anti-defection law, any elected member who gives up the membership of a political party voluntarily or votes or abstains from voting in the House, contrary to any direction issued by his political party, is liable for disqualification.

These MLAs had signed the attendance register but abstained from the House during the voting on the Budget, the speaker said.

These members were issued notices for defying the whip through Whatsapp and e-mail and were asked to appear for hearing.

The assembly had passed the Finance Bill by voice vote after the speaker suspended 15 BJP MLAs.

The speaker had then adjourned the session.

In his 30-page order, he said the plea of the advocate of the rebel MLAs, Satya Pal Jain, for giving time to reply to the notice was not entertained as 'evidence was absolutely clear'.

The Speaker said delivering quick judgment was necessary in such cases to maintain the dignity of democracy and check the 'Aaya Ram, Gaya Ram' phenomenon.

The judgment had no link with cross-voting by these MLAs in the Rajya Sabha polls, the speaker added.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Hemant Waje© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
India Votes 2024

India Votes 2024