News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

This article was first published 1 year ago  » News » 12 members of BJP MP's family killed in Morbi bridge tragedy

12 members of BJP MP's family killed in Morbi bridge tragedy

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Hemant Waje
Last updated on: October 31, 2022 14:45 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Lok Sabha member from Rajkot Mohan Kundariya on Monday said 12 of his relatives were among those killed in the suspension bridge collapse in Gujarat's Morbi town.

IMAGE: People gather at the site during a rescue operation after the collapse of a suspension bridge over the Machchhu river, in Gujarat's Morbi district. Photograph: PTI Photo

They had gone to visit the picnic spot on Sunday when the tragedy took place, the Bharatiya Janata Party MP told PTI.

At least 134 people were killed after a suspension bridge collapsed into the Machchhu river in Morbi on Sunday evening, according to police.

Kundariya said the 12 victims of his family included five children, four women and three men, all close relatives of his elder brother.


Strict action will be taken against those responsible for the tragedy, he said.

"Four daughters of the brother-in-law of my elder brother, the husbands of three of them and five children were killed in the accident,” Kundariya said.

They belonged to different villages in Tankara taluka and were settled in Morbi, he said.

"As it was Sunday, they had gone to the picnic spot where the tragedy occurred. I reached here half-an-hour after the incident took place and have been at the spot since yesterday, helping in the rescue work,” the MP said.

"So many people have been killed. We will take strict action against those responsible for the incident," he said.

Kundariya said Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel was camping in Morbi after the bridge collapse incident.

"We will ensure that nobody responsible for the loss of so many lives is spared,” he said.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Hemant Waje© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
India Votes 2024

India Votes 2024