Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > India > News > Report

Yeddyurappa sworn in; B'lore turns saffron

Vicky Nanjappa in Bangalore | May 30, 2008 14:56 IST
Last Updated: May 30, 2008 15:45 IST

MAY 30, 1: 50 pm marked a new beginning for the Bharatiya Janata Party in KarnatakaIt was then that Bookanakere Siddalingappa Yeddyurappa was sworn in the 25th chief minister of Karnataka, marking a saffron dawn in South India.


Savouring the historic occasion were top party leaders such as L K Advani, Rajnath Singh, Narendra Modi [Images], Venkaiah Naidu and Arun Jaitley. Twenty-nine MLAs were also sworn in as ministers with Cabinet ranks. (See the list below ). 


"I swear in the name of the farmer and God," Yeddyurappa said while taking oath even as a crowd of 75,000 cheered him on.


Yeddyurappa was administered oath of office by Governor Rameshwar Thakur on the steps of the historic Vidhan Soudha, which houses the Karnataka Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council.


Showing victory signs to his supporters, Yeddyurappa sought the blessings of senior BJP leaders after being sworn in.


Bangalore has been transformed into a saffron city, thanks to the thousands of BJP flags that were put up. The big banners and massive cut outs that were missing during the elections were back donning every nook and corner of the city.  Most BJP supporters walked at least 20 km to reach Vidhan Soudha as vehicles were not permitted into the city.


This is the second time that Yeddyurappa is being sworn in as the chief minister of Karnataka. The last experience turned out to be a bitter experience as the BJP government was pulled down after seven days by coalition partner, the Janata Dal (S). 


The ministers with Cabinet rank are:


Govind M Karjol

K S Eshwarappa

V S Acharya

C M Udasi

Mumtaz Ali Khan

Ramachandre Gowda

R Ashok

S A Ravindranath

Janardhan Reddy

Bache Gowda

V H Kageri

Karunakar Reddy

Basavaraj Bommai


Shobha Karandlage

Krishna Palemar

Suresh Kumar

Revu Nayak


S N Krishnaiah Setty

Arvind Limbavalli

H Halappa

Lakshman Pavadi

M Rudrappa

S K Belluppi

D Sudhakar (Independent)

Narendra Swamy (Independent)

S Thangadgi (Independent)

G Shekhar (Independent)