Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > India > News > PTI

Manik Sarkar sworn in as Tripura CM for 4th time

March 10, 2008 16:11 IST

Related Articles
Left regains Tripura, hung House in Meghalaya

A Communist Party of India-Marxist-led Left Front government headed by Manik Sarkar assumed office for the fourth consecutive term in Tripura on Monday.

Sarkar was sworn in as the chief minister for the fourth time along with 11 ministerial colleagues by Governor Dinesh Nandan Sahaya.

The governor administered the oath of office and secrecy to Sarkar and the 11 cabinet ministers, including one each from the Left Front partners Revolutionary Socialist Party and the Communist Party of India and a woman legislator, Bijita Nath at the lawns of Raj Bhavan in Agartala.

Anil Sarkar, Badal Choudhury, Aghore Debbarma, Tapan Chakraborty, Manik De, Jitendra Choudhury, Khagendra Jamatiya, Sahid Choudhury (all of CPI-M), Joygobinda Debroy (RSP) and Manindra Reang (CPI) were sworn in as ministers.

CPI-M general secretary Prakash Karat and politburo member Brinda Karat were present at the ceremony in Raj Bhavan.

The Congress, which secured 10 seats in the elections, was conspicuous by its absence.

The party's poll partner the Indigenous Nationalist Party of Tripura, which won one seat was represented by its president Bijoy Hrangkhal at the swearing-in.

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.