NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » IPL's golden ducks

IPL's golden ducks

May 14, 2009 11:34 IST

IPL's golden ducks


Bikash Mohapatra and Harish Kotian

The duck may well be the favourite item on the Indian Premier League's menu.

How else does one explain the large number of ducks this season?

Going by the latest statistics (after Match 43 between the Delhi Daredevils and the Deccan Chargers), the second edition of the Twenty20 tournament has seen as many as 30 golden ducks -- in other words, first ball dismissals.

And when you have blasters like Adam Gilchrist, Brendon McCullum, Jesse Ryder, Kevin Pietersen, Sanath Jayasuriya and Sourav Ganguly figuring on that list, it doesn't augur well for a tournament struggling to match the impact it made in its inaugural year.

It can be pointed out that South African wickets are fast and the batsmen have had trouble adjusting to them. Also, it can be argued that most Indian batsmen are used to slower, spin-friendly wickets back home, and have failed to adapt.

But didn't the teams go earlier to adapt? And haven't the spinners been successful on the so-called fast tracks?

The second season's most expensive player, Kevin Pietersen, was out to the first ball he faced from Muttiah Muralitharan in Port Elizabeth. A few days later, he effected a golden duck himself when he had Brendon McCullum of the Kolkata Knight Riders caught at point by Virat Kohli in Durban.

There are also several instances of silver ducks -- batsmen getting out off the second ball without scoring. Kings XI Punjab's Simon Katich was dismissed thus against the Mumbai Indians at the Centurion as was Pragyan Ojha against the Delhi Daredevils in Durban, the latest instances of the silver duck syndrome.

There have been a few diamond ducks as well -- batsmen getting out without having faced a single delivery. Kings XI Punjab's Piyush Chawla is the most recent player to achiever that dubious distinction.

Illustration: Uttam Ghosh

Image: IPL's golden ducks


Bangalore Royal Challengers (8)

Prev     Next

One record no team wants to boast of is the maximum number of golden ducks.

The Bangalore Royal Challengers top the list with eight golden or first ball ducks.

Quite a few of their top batsmen, including regular captain Kevin Pietersen, fell off the first delivery as Bangalore got to a patchy start before recovering under Anil Kumble to keep their semi-final hopes alive.

Bangalore's golden ducks:

Jesse Ryder b Fidel Edwards
Ross Taylor b A Mascarenhas
Kevin Pietersen lbw M Muralitharan
R Bishnoi c Laxmipathy Balaji b Muralitharan
Robin Uthappa c Yuvraj Singh b Irfan Pathan
Pankaj Singh b Irfan Pathan
Jacques Kallis b Dirk Nannes
R Vinay Kumar run out (A B de Villiers)

Image: The Bangalore Royal Challengers
Photographs: Reuters
Prev     Next

Kolkata Knight Riders (6)

Prev     Next

Nothing has gone right for the Kolkata Knight Riders this year.

Captain Brendon McCullum has been a major letdown with the bat and has only scored a half-century, that too in a losing cause.

The other batsmen have failed to rise to the occasion while the bowlers have looked ordinary, as KKR were outplayed by every team.

KKR ranks second in terms of golden ducks.

Kolkata's golden ducks:

Brendon McCullum c Virat Kohli b Kevin Pietersen
Sourav Ganguly b Zaheer Khan
Arindam Ghosh c Sachin Tendulkar b Abhishek Nayar
Ajantha Mendis b Lasith Malinga
Ashok Dinda b Lasith Malinga
Wridhimann Saha c Dinesh Karthik b Amit Mishra

Image: Sourav Ganguly and Brendon McCullum

Prev     Next

Rajasthan Royals (4)

Prev     Next

It has not been a champions showing by the Rajasthan Royals this season. Last year they defied all odds to win the inaugural title, but this season an encore looks like a bridge too far.

Four of their batsmen got out off the first delivery. The Royals' batting has been a big disappointment barring Yusuf Pathan's occasional fireworks.

Rajasthan's golden ducks:

Dimitri Mascarenhas run out (Virat Kohli/Robin Uthappa)
Munaf Patel c Parthiv Patel b Jacob Oram
Swapnil Asnodkar run out (Herschelle Gibbs)
Shane Warne b Rohit Sharma (Deccan Chargers)

Image: Swapnil Asnodkar

Prev     Next

Mumbai Indians (3)

Prev     Next

They were supposed to have a lethal impact in the IPL, but Sanath Jayasuriya and Sachin Tendulkar have not lived up to that billing.

Jayasuriya has not found his touch with the bat and was dismissed for a golden duck.

Mumbai's golden ducks:

Sanath Jayasuriya c Yuvraj Singh b Irfan Pathan
Ajinkya Rahane c Robin Uthappa b Dillon du Preez
Harbhajan Singh b Rohit Sharma

Image: Sanath Jayasuriya

Prev     Next

Delhi Daredevils (3)

Prev     Next


The Delhi Daredevils look current favourites to win this IPL title.

Even without regular captain Virender Sehwag, they keep winning; their batting is their major forte.

Delhi's golden ducks:

Gautam Gambhir c Mahendra Singh Dhoni b Laksmipathy Balaji
A B de Villiers b Sudeep Tyagi
Rajat Bhatia c Shoaib Maqsusi b Pragyan Ojha

Image: A B de Villiers and Gautam Gambhir

Prev     Next

Deccan Chargers (4)

Prev     Next

Last year they finished last, and their revival this season has been awesome.

Led by Adam Gilchrist, despite a couple of recent losses, they could still end up in the last four, a step away from the title.

Deccan's golden ducks:

Adam Gilchrist lbw Albie Morkel
V V S Laxman c Abhishek Nayar b Dwayne Bravo
R P Singh run out (Ashish Nehra)
Shoaib Maqsusi c A B de Villiers b Rajat Bhatia

Image: Adam Gilchrist

Prev     Next

Kings XI Punjab (1)

Prev     Next

The Kings XI Punjab continue to startle crowds by their inconsistency.

The team was hit hard by the weather in their first two matches before recovering in style.

Alas, they have hit a rough patch lately and could lose out on a semi-final slot.

Punjab's golden duck:

Sunny Sohal c Shane Warne b Amit Singh

Image: Sunny Sohal

Prev     Next

Chennai Super Kings (1)


Mahendra Singh Dhoni's side has been like Caesar's legions this season -- they came, they saw, they conquered.

Led by the rampaging Matthew Hayden and Suresh Raina, CSK could sweep favourites Delhi Daredevils out of their way in the tournament's finale.

Chennai's golden duck:

S Badrinath c V R V Singh b Irfan Pathan

Image: Subramaniam Badrinath