NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Four Indians in Dhoni-led ICC ODI team

Four Indians in Dhoni-led ICC ODI team

Last updated on: September 12, 2011 19:46 IST

Four Indians in Dhoni-led ICC ODI team



World champions India dominated the ICC ODI Team of the Year, announced in London on Monday, with four of its players figuring in the side, including Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who was named captain.

Other Indians named in the team are opener Virender Sehwag, middle-order batsman Yuvraj Singh and pace spearhead Zaheer Khan.

Apart from being named captain of the team, Dhoni will keep wickets for the fourth year in a row.

India have the maximum number of players in the world team that does not include Sachin Tendulkar.

Sri Lanka, who finished runners-up in the World Cup, have two players in the first eleven, as well as the 12th man. South Africa is represented by two players while Australia, England and Pakistan have one player each.

Image: Mahendra Singh Dhoni
Photographs: Getty Images

Yuvraj finds a place at No. 6

Prev     Next


Sehwag partners Sri Lankan Tillakaratne Dilshan at the top of order while the latter's teammate Kumar Sangakkara comes at the crucial No. 3 spot.

South Africa's AB de Villiers and Australian Shane Watson were named at No. 4 and five, while Yuvraj will bat at No. 6, a slot ahead of Dhoni.

Pakistan's Umar Gul and South African Dale Steyn will share the pace duties with Zaheer while Englishman Graeme Swann is the lone spinner in the world team.

The team, chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian batting legend and former captain Clive Lloyd, was announced at a special function ahead of the LG ICC Awards ceremony in London.

Image: Yuvraj Singh
Photographs: Getty Images
Prev     Next

Outstanding year for 50-over cricket: Lloyd

Prev     More


Chairman of the ICC Awards selection panel, Lloyd said India's dominance in the ODI team reflected their success in the World Cup.

"The ODI team of the year reflects the success of India with four players selected --  Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, M S Dhoni and Zaheer Khan.

Yuvraj was, of course, the player of the tournament, and MS Dhoni, the man of the match in the final, whilst fellow finalists Sri Lanka has three players in the side," Lloyd said.

"This has been an outstanding year for 50-over cricket. I think everyone saw in the ICC Cricket World Cup how exciting this format can be. The ICC Cricket World Cup was rightly applauded as one of the greatest in history and no one who was in Mumbai will forget that remarkable evening."

Former Pakistan captain Zaheer Abbas, former England captain Mike Gatting, former New Zealand bowler Danny Morrison and former South African bowler Paul Adams were the other members of the selection panel.

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order):

Tillakaratne Dilshan

Virender Sehwag

Kumar Sangakkara

AB de Villiers

Shane Watson

Yuvraj Singh

MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper/captain)

Graeme Swann

Umar Gul

Dale Steyn

Zaheer Khan.

12th man: Lasith Malinga.

Image: Clive Lloyd
Photographs: Getty Images
Prev     More
© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.