NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Taruwar scores triple ton as Punjab grind Jharkhand

Taruwar scores triple ton as Punjab grind Jharkhand

January 10, 2013 18:00 IST

Taruwar Kohli scored an unbeaten triple century and shared a 264-run fourth wicket stand with Uday Kaul (113 not out) as the Ranji Trophy quarter-final between Punjab and Jharkhand, in Jamshedpur, ended in a tame draw on Thursday.

Punjab entered the last-four stage by virtue of a first innings lead of 298 runs.

- Pujara hits 352, Jackson 117 in Saurashtra's semis march

- Mumbai seal Ranji semi-final date with Services

Jharkhand, having scored 401 all out in their first innings, were 33 for no loss off 13 overs in their second essay after Punjab declared their first innings at 699 for 3, at the stroke of tea on the fifth and final day.

Resuming at 435 for 3, overnight batsman Taruwar, who was on 151, along with Kaul, who stepped in at the dismissal of Mandeep Singh (96) at stumps on day four, made mockery of Jharkhand's bowling and scored runs at will.

The duo ensured Punjab did not lose a single wicket in the entire day.

Taruwar, who made a comeback to the Punjab team after two years, faced 609 deliveries in scoring an unbeaten 300, studded with 34 boundaries and two sixes, while Kaul's knock off 216 balls included nine hits to the fence.

When play was called off, Jharkhand openers Ajay Verma (14) and Manish Vardhan (19) were at the crease.

Punjab will take on Saurashtra at Rajkot in the semi-finals.


Jharkhand (1st innings): 401

Punjab (1st innings):
Jiwanjyot Singh b Shahbaz Nadeem 131
Ravinder Singh c Vardhan b Nadeem 37
Tanwar Kohli not out 300
Mandeep Singh c Jaggi b Vardhan 96
Udai Kaul not out 113
Extras: (b-6, lb-4, nb-12) 22
Total: (for three wickets off 229 overs) 699

Fall of wickets: 75-1, 231-2, 435-3

Bowling: Ajay Yadav 16-4-37-0, S S Rao 26-5-92-0, S Nadeem 83-21-193-2, Sunny Gupta 66-8-210-0, Akash Varma 2-0-14-0, Manish Vardhan 13-3-40-1, Ishank Jaggi 14-1-67-0, Saurabh Tiwary 9-0-36-0.

Jharkhand (2nd innings):
Ajay Verma not out 14
Manish Vardhan not out 19
Extras: 0
(for no loss off 13 overs) 33

Bowling: Udai Kaul 2-0-9-0, Jiwanjyot Singh 2-1-4-0, G R Singh 5-1-7-0, Mandeep Singh 4-0-13-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.