NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Agarwal blasts 162 as Karnataka demolish Andhra

Agarwal blasts 162 as Karnataka demolish Andhra

November 07, 2014 19:00 IST

Mayank Agarwal blasted 162 to help Karnataka demolish Andhra Pradesh in a South Zone match of the Vijay Hazare National One Day Championships in Secunderabad, on Friday.

Agarwal slammed 22 fours and three sixes in 137-ball knock to help Karnataka post a mammoth 330 after they were sent into bat. In reply, Andhra folded for a paltry 196 to lose by a huge margin of 134 runs.

Manish Pandey also continued his recent good run as he slammed a 63-ball 75.
For Andhra, veteran Mohammed Kaif top scored with 54, while Siva Kumar made 40 in an otherwise disappointing batting performance.

Abhimanyu Mithun was the wrecker-in-chief for Karnataka, bagging four for 18, while Udit Patel picked up three for 46 in his 10 overs in Karnataka's comfortable victory.

Brief Scores:

Karnataka: 330/6 in 50 overs (Mayank Agarwal 162, Manish Pandey 75, Ayyappa Bandaru 4/43).

Andhra Pradesh: 196 all out in 47.4 overs (Kaif 54, Siva Kumar 40, Abhimanyu Mithun 4/18).

Goswami, Singh shine in Bengal's comfortable victory

Opener Shreevats Goswami hit a century and fast bowler Veer Pratap Singh claimed five wickets as Bengal comfortably beat Odisha by 25 runs to kick-start their campaign in the East Zone leg of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Former India Under-19 wicketkeeper-batsman Goswami anchored the Bengal innings as his unbeaten 110 took Bengal to a respectable 220 for six after being put into bat at the newly constructed Bengal Cricket Academy ground, in Kalyani.

In reply, Odisha were all-out for 195 in 46.4 overs with Veer Pratap grabbing 5/23 in 8.4 overs ably supported by senior pacer Ashoke Dinda (2/41) and all-rounder Laxmi Ratan Shukla (2/33).

Left-handed Goswami batted responsibly as he played 145 balls, hitting 10 fours in total but the rest of the Bengal batsmen struggled.

Left-handed Subhajit Banerjee making his List A debut made 33 and shared a 73-run stand for the fourth wicket after Arindam Das (0), Sudeep Chatterjee (13) and Manoj Tiwary (16) were dismissed in quick succession. Once Banerjee was dismissed, skipper Shukla (0) and Sayan Sekhar Mondal (9) also perished cheaply.

However, another 65 runs were added by Goswami along with veteran all-rounder Saurashish Lahiri (27) to help the hosts cross the 200-run mark.

Odisha were cruising along at one stage with scoreboard reading 86 for two before they lost three quick wickets to be reduced at 88 for five.

Nataraj Behera (77) fought a lonely battle but failed to get enough support from the other end.

Brief Scores:

Bengal 220/6 (Shreevats Goswami 110 not out, Subhajit Banerjee 33, Basant Mohanty 3/46).

Odisha 195 all out in 46.4 overs (Nataraj Behera 77, Veer Pratap Singh 5/23, LR Shukla 2/33, Ashoke Dinda 2/41).

Image: Mayank Agarwal in action for Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Indian Premier League.

Photograph: BCCI