NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Raina, Yadav star in Central's win

Raina, Yadav star in Central's win

February 04, 2005 23:01 IST

All-rounders Suresh Raina and Jai Prakash Yadav starred in Central Zone's 12-run victory over West Zone in their concluding Deodhar Trophy limited-overs league match in Jamnagar on Friday.

Also Read

North Zone win Deodhar Trophy

Eighteen-year-old Raina slammed 84 off 81 balls, inclusive of two sixes and five fours, while seasoned campaigner Yadav scored a 61-ball 56, inclusive of five fours, to power Central Zone to an imposing total of 282 in 49.5 overs.

The two then shone with the ball too during West's run-chase, which was halted at 270 and 49.1 overs.

Uttar Pradesh's Raina bowled economically to take one for 32 in eight overs while Yadav, who represents Railways, was a bit more expensive but also claimed two for 51 in nine overs.

Raina also added 63 runs for the fourth wicket with Abbas Ali, who scored a composed 40 in 44 balls, inclusive of three fours and two sixes, to pull around the innings after Central, who won the toss and batted first, had lost three quick wickets, including that of skipper Mohammad Kaif (13).

For West, Ajit Agarkar struck a quickfire 52 off 57 balls, with five fours and a six, after taking two wickets but could not prevent his team from going down to Central.

Opener Dhiraj Jadhav, 46, and Akash Christian, 40, were the others to do their bit with the bat for West.

West finished runners-up in the league with nine points while Central, who grabbed four points from the victory, ended the league in third spot with 8 points.

North Zone finished at the top of the league with 14 points.


Central Zone:
N Ojha b Zaheer Khan 24
A Naidu c Patel b Zaheer Khan 22
M Kaif lbw Khirid 13
S Raina run out 84
Abbas Ali c Y Pathan b Powar 40
S Bangar c Zaheer Khan b Y Pathan 7
J P Yadav c Jadhav b Agarkar 56
Jyoti Yadav run out 11
M Karthik c Zaheer Khan b Agarkar 2
R P Singh run out 0
S Pandey not out 0

Extras: (b 6, lb 5, nb 1, w 11) 23

Total: (all out in 49.5 overs) 282

Fall of wickets: 1-43, 2-48, 3-79, 4-142, 5-156, 6-229, 7-270, 8-282, 9-282.

Bowling: Zaheer Khan 10-1-48-2, Agarkar 8.5-0-60-2, Khirid 10-0-66-1, Powar 10-1-52-1, Y Pathan 10-0-36-1, N Patel 1-0-9-0.

West Zone:
D Jadhav b Pandey 46
S Parab b R P Singh 0
P Patel c Kaif b J P Yadav 27
N Patel b Raina 27
A Muzumdar c Ojha b Bangar 0
A Christian c Ali b Karthik 40
R Powar st Ojha b Karthik 2
A Agarkar c Naidu b Jyoti Yadav 52
A Khirid st Ojha b J P Yadav 36
Y Pathan c Naidu b Bangar 20
Z Khan not out 1

Extras: (lb 5, nb 2, w 12) 19

Total: (all out in 49.1 overs) 270

Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-43, 3-75, 4-76, 5-135, 6-138, 7-169, 8-226, 9-268.

Bowling: R P Singh 5-0-45-1, J P Yadav 9-2-51-2, Bangar 8.1-0-33-2, Raina 8-0-32-1, Karthik 10-1-36-2, Pandey 4-0-30-1, Jyoti Yadav 5-0-38-1.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.