NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » 59 ministers sworn in on Thursday

59 ministers sworn in on Thursday

May 28, 2009 19:30 IST

59 ministers sworn in on Thursday

A total of 59 ministers, including 14 cabinet ministers, 7 ministers of state with independent charge and 38 ministers of state took oath at Ashok Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan on Thursday. The oath taking ceremony began at 11.30 am and president Pratibha Devisingh Patil officiated the ceremony. Among 59 ministers, 29 are new faces in the ministry. While Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and Maharashtra have received lion's share in the cabinet, Haryana has got poor representation as only one minister is representing this state in the centre.

Image: 59 ministers sworn in
Video: ANI