The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

Notification issued for assembly polls

January 31, 2003 14:31 IST

The Election Commission on Friday issued a notification for assembly elections in Himachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura.

Polling in all four states will take place on February 26.

While Himachal Pradesh has 65 assembly constituencies, the three northeastern states have 60 each.

In three constituencies in Himachal Pradesh -- Lahaul Spiti, Kinnaur and Pangi Bharmaur -- polling will take place in June.

The last date for filing nominations is February 7. The papers would scrutinised on February 8 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature will be February 10.

Simultaneously, by-elections will be conducted in eight assembly constituencies spread over seven states -- two in Uttar Pradesh (Gauriganj and Haidergarh) and one each in Jammu and Kashmir (Pampore), Tamil Nadu (Sattankulam), Jharkhand (Poriyahat), Karnataka (Humnabad), Maharashtra (Bhokarden) and Assam (Ratabari).

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

More reports from Himachal Pradesh
© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

Polls in four states on Feb 26

EC calls officers from 4 states

HP polls: 23 Cong MLAs renominated

People Who Read This Also Read

VHP critices Centre-NSCN talks

BJP creating social divide: Sonia

US army chief may visit Kashmir

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.