NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Manoj Tiwary bags five as India 'A' beat Australia 'A'

Manoj Tiwary bags five as India 'A' beat Australia 'A'

July 31, 2014 16:44 IST

Manoj Tiwary bags five as India 'A' beat Australia 'A'


Manoj Tiwary bagged five wickets as India ‘A’ beat Australia ‘A’ by five wickets, at Marrara Cricket Ground in Darwin on Thursday, two days ahead of the Quadrangular series final between the two  teams.

The haul is Tiwary’s first in List A cricket. He finished with figures of 5-34, as Australia ‘A’, batting first, was dismissed for 228 in their final over.

Openers Marcus Stoinis and Phil Hughes led the way with the bat for the Aussies, each scoring 58 runs.

Ambati Rayudu (77) and Kedar Jadhav (52) scored half centuries as the Indians chased down the total in the 48th over, finishing with 231 for 5.

Clint McKay (1-19) and Gurinder Sandhu (1-37) were the most economical Australia bowlers.


Australia ‘A’

M Stoinis c Kulkarni b Patel 58

P Hughes st Samson b Tiwary 58

P Nevill st Samson b Tiwary 23

C White c Uthappa b Tiwary 7

A Doolan c&b Tiwary 16

T Cooper c (sub) Pandey b Tiwary 5

B Cutting c Vohra b Patel 22

P Cummins c Rayudu b Rasool 19

C Boyce c Uthappa b Rayudu 3

C McKay c Uthappa b Patel 7

G Sandhu not out 1

Extras: (0lb, 4w, 1nb, 0b ) 9

Total: (in 49.4 overs) 228

Fall of wickets: 1-78, 2-126, 3-144, 4-157, 5-163, 6-180, 7-206, 8-211, 9-227, 10-228.

Bowling: M Sharma 5-0-18-0 (1w , 1nb), D Kulkarni 7-1-32-0 (1w), R Shukla 5-0-34-0 (2w), P Rasool 10-0-52-1, A Patel 9.4-0-30-3, A Rayudu 3-0-28-1, M Tiwary 10-0-34-5

India ‘A’

R Uthappa c Cutting b Cummins 13

M Vohra c Stoinis b McKay 9

A Rayudu c Cutting b Boyce 77

M Tiwary c Nevill b Sandhu 8

K Jadhav c Sandhu b White 52

S Samson not out 49

P Rasool not out 20

Did not bat: A Patel, M Sharma, D Kulkarni, R Shukla

Extras: 0lb, 2w, 0nb, 1b ) 3

Total: (for five wkts, in  47.5 overs): 231

Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-24, 3-38, 4-139, 5-191.

Bowling: P Cummins-8-0-49-1, C McKay 9-1-19-1, G Sandhu 9-1-37-1, B Cutting 8.5-0-43-0 (1w), C Boyce 8-0-51-1, C White 3-0-23-1 (1w), T Cooper 2-0-8-0. 


Image: Manoj Tiwary of India 'A' bowls during the Quadrangular series match against Australia 'A' at the Allan Border Field on July 8, 2014 in Brisbane, Australia
Photographs: Matt Roberts/Getty Images