« Back to articlePrint this article

Conrad Sangma's NPP to retain Meghalaya with BJP support

Last updated on: March 02, 2023 21:08 IST

The ruling National People's Party (NPP) in Meghalaya won 26 seats, but fell four short of the halfway mark of 31 in the election results declared on Thursday.

IMAGE: Meghalaya Chief Minister and NPP chief Conrad Sangma waves at supporters gathered for celebrating his victory in Meghalaya assembly elections from the South Tura Assembly constituency, Thursday, March 2, 2023. Photograph: PTI Photo

However, Meghalaya Bharatiya Janata Party president Ernest Mawrie said the saffron party will submit a letter of support to the NPP on Thursday night to form the next government in the state.

The United Democratic Party (UDP) bagged 11 constituencies and the Congress won five.

The Trinamool Congress won five seats.

The Hill State People's Democratic Party (HSPDP) won two seats and the Voice of the People Party (VPP) won four.


The Bharatiya Janata Party and the People's Democratic Front won two seats each.

Two Independent candidates emerged victorious, as per the EC website.

Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma won the South Tura seat by a margin of 5,016 votes, while his deputy Prestone Tynsong won in Pynursla seat by 8,140 votes.

State Congress president and MP Vincent H Pala lost to NPP's Santa Mary Shylla by 1,828 votes in Sutnga Saipung seat.

Leader of Opposition Mukul Sangma of the TMC won the Songsak seat by a margin of 507 votes, but lost the Tikrikilla constituency to NPP's J D Sangma by 5,313 votes, according to the EC data.

Meghalaya Assembly Speaker Metbah Lyngdoh won the Mairang constituency by 155 votes, while BJP's Sanbor Shullai clinched the South Shillong seat by 11,609 votes.

Counting of votes began in Meghalaya at 8 am amid tight security. The votes were counted at 13 centres.

Meghalaya has 60 seats, but polling in the Sohiong seat was adjourned due to the death of a candidate.

Sangma's NPP and the BJP ran the last government together as part of the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) but fought the elections on their own.

© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.