« Back to articlePrint this article

NDPP-BJP alliance retains Nagaland with comfortable victory

Last updated on: March 02, 2023 20:49 IST

The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP)-Bharatiya Janata Party alliance won 37 seats in Nagaland Assembly election, retaining the power in the state with Neiphiu Rio set to assume office as chief minister for a fifth consecutive term.

IMAGE: Prime Minister Narendra Modi with Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio during a public rally, at Agri Expo, Chumukedima, in Dimapur. Photograph: ANI Photo

Elections were held for 59 Assembly seats on February 27, as the Akuluto seat has been won uncontested by BJP nominee Kazheto Kinimi.

The NDPP won 25 seats while the BJP won 12 seats, as per the election commission website.


NDPP supremo and Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio won the Northern Angami-II Assembly constituency, trouncing Seyievilie Sachu of the Congress by a mammoth margin of 15,824 votes.

The NDPP-BJP alliance fought the election on a 40:20 seat-sharing arrangement.

NDPP's Hekhani Jakhalu and Salhoutuo Kruse created history on Thursday by becoming the first two women to be elected to the Nagaland Assembly, officials said.

The Republican Party of India-Athawale, which contested the Nagaland Assembly election for the first time, won two seats -- Tuensang Sadar II and Noksen.

The Lok Janshakti Party-Ramvilas, which also contested the Nagaland Assembly election for the first time, also won two seats -- Pughoboto and Tobu.

In Pughoboto, its candidate Dr Sukhato A Sema defeated nearest rival Y Vikheho Swu of NDPP by 850 votes, the EC said.

In Naiba Konyak, the LJP-R candidate defeated NDPP's N Bongkhao Konyak by 506 votes. 

Deputy Chief Minister and BJP nominee Y Patton won by 8,841 votes in the Tyui seat.

© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.