« Back to articlePrint this article

Lokpal has ordered CBI probe against Mahua, says Dubey

Last updated on: November 08, 2023 20:02 IST

Bharatiya Janata Party MP Nishikant Dubey on Wednesday said the Lokpal has ordered a Central Bureau of Investigation probe against Trinamool Congress MP Mahua Moitra on his complaint of alleged corruption by her.

IMAGE: TMC's Lok Sabha member Mahua Moitra stages a walkout with Opposition MPs from the Parliamentary Ethics Committee meeting, in New Delhi on November 2, 2023. Photograph: ANI Photo

In an apparent reference to the development, Moitra said on X that the CBI should first file an FIR to probe alleged coal scam by the Adani Group.

This comes days after the BJP MP accused Moitra of asking questions in the Lok Sabha at the behest of businessman Darshan Hiranandani in exchange for gifts. Moitra has denied the charge of receiving any pecuniary benefit.

The matter is being looked into by the ethics committee of the Lok Sabha.


In a post on X, Dubey wrote, "On my complaint, Lokpal today ordered a CBI inquiry against accused Mahua Moitra for indulging in corruption at the cost of national security."

However, there was no official word from the Lokpal.

In a separate post on X, the TMC MP sarcastically said she was "very happy to know" the Lokpal exists. "Lok Pal Abhi Zinda Hai," she said in another post.

Dubey had on October 21 filed a complaint with the anti-corruption ombudsman Lokpal against Moitra, and accused her of compromising national security.

The ethics committee of Lok Sabha will meet on Thursday to adopt a draft report on the allegation against Moitra.

Following Dubey's complaint, the Ethics Committee of Lok Sabha initiated the probe.

The 15-member committee has seven members from the BJP, three from the Congress, and one each from BSP, Shiv Sena, YSRCP, CPI(M) and JDU.

The committee is likely to take a grim view of the charges against Moitra, more so after she accused its chief Vinod Kumar Sonkar of asking filthy and personal questions to her in the last meeting before walking out in a rage along with opposition members.

Congress sources said its members N Uttam Kumar Reddy and V Vaithilingam will submit dissent notes. BSP member Kunwar Danish Ali is also set to submit his dissent note.

© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.