Home > Assembly Elections > PTI > Report

BSP releases Madhya Pradesh list

November 07, 2003 02:47 IST

The Bahujan Samaj Party on Thursday released a list of 160 candidates, which included 11 women and 12 Muslims, for the Madhya Pradesh assembly election.

Sitting legislators I M P Verma and Vidyapati Patel were fielded from Mouganj and Gurh constituencies, according to the list issued by state BSP president and central part observer Azad Gandhi.

The two other legislators who were elected on BSP tickets in the 1998 assembly poll, Phool Singh Baraiyya and Sukhla Kushwaha, were expelled for anti-party activities recently.

Baraiyya formed the Samata Samaj Party while Kushwaha joined the Samanta Dal.

Former Congress leaders Ramashanker Singh and Jagdamba Prasad Nigam were nominated for Lahar and Chhattarpur seats.

There are 230 seats in the assembly.

Article Tools

Email this Article

Printer-Friendly Format

Letter to the Editor

Related Stories

Expelled BSP leader forms party

BSP rules out poll alliance

BSP to fight 55 seats in C'garh

People Who Read This Also Read

SP releases list of candidates

I will be PM one day: Laloo

We'll defeat BJP's evil designs

© Copyright 2003 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Copyright © 2003 rediff.com India Limited. All Rights Reserved.