« Back to articlePrint this article

IPL 2020 playoffs: A quick guide

Last updated on: November 04, 2020 00:34 IST

IMAGE: The Indian Premier League 2020 trophy. Photograph: BCCI/IPL

Defending champions Mumbai Indians are once again the title favourites as the IPL heads into the all-important playoffs before culminating in the grand final in Dubai on November 10.

Mumbai, who began IPL 2020 with a loss to Chennai Super Kings in the tournament opener, have gone from strength to strength as the tournament progressed and it remains to be seen if anyone can prevent MI from winning their fifth IPL title.

Even without the services of Captain Rohit Sharma, who is out with injury, Mumbai have proved to be unstoppable.

The four-time champions finished top of the standings with a tally of 18 points, with nine wins from 14 games.

The IPL playoffs benefits the top teams in the points table. Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals battle it out in Qualifier 1 game on Thursday, November 5, with the winner advancing to the final.

The loser gets another shot of making it to the title clash as they contest the Qualifier 2 match on Sunday, November 8, where they face the winners of the Eliminator game on Friday, November 6.

The Eliminator game features the clash between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore -- the third and fourth ranked teams in the league stages.

Sunrisers advanced to the play-offs after thrashing Mumbai Indians by 10 wickets in the final league match of the tournament as they finished third, while Kolkata Knight Riders on the same number of points (14) were eliminated.

Check out the IPL playoffs schedule:

Date Time Match Venue
November 5 1930 IST Qualifier 1: Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals Dubai
November 6 1930 IST Eliminator: Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Abu Dhabi
November 8 1930 IST Qualifier 2: Loser of Qualifier 1 vs Winner of Eliminator Abu Dhabi
November 10 1930 IST FINAL Dubai