« Back to articlePrint this article

All-round India crush South Africa in series opener

September 29, 2022 00:14 IST


KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav smashed unbeaten fifties to lead India to an eight-wicket victory over South Africa in the opening Twenty20 International in Thiruvananthapuram on Wednesday.

India restricted South Africa to 106-8, a total that had looked improbable after a spectacular top order collapse left the touring side reeling at 9-5 in 2.3 overs.


Rahul made 51 not out and Yadav, the world's second-ranked Twenty20 batsman, remained unbeaten on 50 off 33 balls as India romped home with 20 balls to spare.

Arshdeep Singh and Axar Patel celebrate on dismissing David Miller. 

IMAGE: Arshdeep Singh and Axar Patel celebrate on dismissing David Miller. Photograph: BCCI

India's pace attack, led by Arshdeep Singh, had laid the foundations of the victory on a seaming track at the Greenfield International Stadium.

They blew away South Africa's top order within 15 deliveries to seize early control of the match.

Deepak Chahar dismissed touring captain Temba Bavuma in the first over and sent back Tristan Stubbs in his next.

In between, Singh sent down a three-wicket over to break the back of South African line-up.

The left-arm seamer got Quinton de Kock to drag a ball onto his stumps and removed Rilee Rossouw and David Miller in successive deliveries to leave the tourists in tatters.

Keshav Maharaj scored a counter-attacking 41 

IMAGE: Keshav Maharaj scored a counter-attacking 41. Photograph: BCCI

Aiden Markram (25) and Wayne Parnel (24) offered resistance with the bat but it was Keshav Maharaj's counter-attacking 41 that helped South Africa post a 100-plus score.

India endured their own top order woes when they began their chase.

Captain Rohit Sharma fell for a duck and Virat Kohli made three but Rahul played the anchor and Yadav the aggressor in an unbroken 93-run third-wicket stand to put India 1-0 ahead in the three-match series.

The teams move to Guwahati for the second match on Sunday. 

© Copyright 2023 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.